Bach: Sonatas & Partitas

Bach: Sonatas & Partitas

by Augustin Hadelich Augustin Hadelich


Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Tuesday, December 7


The Bach sonatas and partitas for solo violin made perfect coronavirus recording fare, with no social distancing required, and this reading by violinist Augustin Hadelich was recorded in the grim summer of 2020. As it happens, the time available for reflection on these profound works seems to have done Hadelich good, for this is an unusual version. Hadelich reflects on the well-known advantages of a Baroque bow in this music, and the agility the bow brings in the multiple stops and the dance rhythms of the suites is deployed to excellent effect. However, this is not a historical-instrument performance. Hadelich uses (presumably) modern strings, which combine with the Baroque bow to produce a striking, brilliant tone and a virtuoso effect. The big Chaconne in the "Partita No. 2 for solo violin, BWV 1004," has an impressively variegated surface and an epic scope, and the smaller dances have a great deal of forward energy. It all fits into a theory of the word "Baroque" and its application to these pieces that Hadelich sets forward in his own notes; he believes that the word's connotations in its own time of something extreme and even malformed have been lost to modern performers, and he is not afraid to take some chances in re-creating it. It may be too much for some listeners, and they will not be helped by Parlophone's over-resonant sound. His playing should have been left to stand on its own, but this is a reading that demands attention, a true command performance.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 04/23/2021
Label: Warner Classics
UPC: 0190295048747
catalogNumber: 504874
Rank: 26771


Disc 1

  1. Sonata for solo violin No. 1 in G minor, BWV 1001

    1. I. Adagio  (04:45)
    2. II. Fuga  (04:33)
    3. III. Siciliana  (03:24)
    4. IV. Presto  (03:05)
  2. Partita for solo violin No. 1 in B minor, BWV 1002

    1. I. Allemanda  (05:21)
    2. II. Double  (02:20)
    3. III. Corrente  (02:40)
    4. IV. Double  (03:05)
    5. V. Sarabande  (03:42)
    6. VI. Double  (02:04)
    7. VII. Tempo di Borea  (02:48)
    8. VIII. Double  (03:08)
  3. Sonata for solo violin No. 2 in A minor, BWV 1003

    1. I. Grave  (04:42)
    2. II. Fuga  (06:23)
    3. III. Andante  (05:31)
    4. IV. Allegro  (05:34)

Disc 2

  1. Partita for solo violin No. 2 in D minor, BWV 1004

    1. I. Allemanda  (03:57)
    2. II. Corrente  (02:17)
    3. III. Sarabanda  (04:38)
    4. IV. Giga  (03:42)
    5. V. Ciaccona  (14:11)
  2. Sonata for solo violin No. 3 in C major, BWV 1005

    1. I. Adagio  (04:18)
    2. II. Fuga  (08:22)
    3. III. Largo  (04:07)
    4. IV. Allegro assai  (04:39)
  3. Partita for solo violin No. 3 in E major, BWV 1006

    1. I. Preludio  (03:20)
    2. II. Loure  (04:38)
    3. III. Gotte en Rondeau  (03:05)
    4. IV. Menuet I  (01:35)
    5. V. Menuet II  (02:15)
    6. VI. Bourée  (01:15)
    7. VII. Gigue  (01:42)

Album Credits

Customer Reviews