Battle and Burning

Battle and Burning

by Carl Cota-robles
Battle and Burning

Battle and Burning

by Carl Cota-robles


Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, December 1


Dragons clash, and Maya's kingdom is the battleground, in book two of this thrilling epic fantasy series.

Maya is a full-fledged dragon rider. She is done with school and bonded to her dragon until death. She has joined the ranks of the powerful Serpentines, after having saved her nation from a devastating weapon. But though the weapon has been stopped, war is destined to descend upon her kingdom.

As the forest burns, Joel races across the desert to warn her of a secret plot. Armies are mobilizing, dragons are spreading their wings, and he's received word of dangerous scientific progress up north.

The dragon riders lead the military. Maya helps train ordinary soldiers to fight under dragon filled skies. Those closest to her are swept up in the battle, coming together as friends and foes. They are:

A previously broken man with a newfound sense of self. A loyal dragon rider who is destined to perish. An old friend with a grudge. An outcast with family drama.

And a boy who is more valuable than all the jade in the world.

Maya and her dragon must step up and fight for everything they hold dear.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781668548110
Publisher: Barnes & Noble Press
Publication date: 09/14/2021
Series: Dragon Destiny , #2
Pages: 432
Product dimensions: 5.00(w) x 8.00(h) x 0.96(d)

About the Author

Carl Cota-Robles is from Portland, OR. He grew up in the late 90s and early 2000s, writing stories about people and animals like talking mice, shapeshifting wizards, time travelers, and vampire thieves. His biggest inspiration was Eragon, but he also read and enjoyed Pendragon, Harry Potter, and other fantasy books. In 2014, he graduated from New York University's Tisch School of the Arts with a BFA in Dramatic Writing. He's currently in the midst of writing his first fantasy series, the Dragon Destiny series. Get introduced to the series with a free novelette, Ingrid Rising, at

Customer Reviews