Been Searching for You

Been Searching for You

by Nicole Evelina

Paperback

$18.00 $20.00 Save 10% Current price is $18, Original price is $20. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Thursday, October 18  Order now and choose Expedited Shipping during checkout.

Overview

Been Searching for You by Nicole Evelina

Annabeth is a hopeless romantic who believes in soul mates. In fact, she’s been writing to hers each year on her birthday since she was 16.

Now, at 34, she’s still holding out hope of finding Mr. Right even though he’d be fighting an uphill battle to gain her trust, thanks to a traumatic experience years before that’s left her unable to commit.

When Annabeth meets a handsome literature professor named Alex on her 34th birthday, she thinks her quest may finally be at an end. Things don’t quite go as planned, so Annabeth resolves to do everything she can over the next year to find the unknown recipient of her letters. But blind dates, Meetup events and online singles sites have nothing on what fate has in store for her when a co-worker unexpectedly quits and Annabeth finds herself working in close quarters with both Alex and her long ago ex, Nick. Fighting her attraction to one and loathing for the other, Annabeth is forced to face all of her old insecurities while keeping an eye on a scheming frienemy who may derail her hopes and dreams.

Written in the tradition of Bridget Jones' Diary, Kim Gruenfelder’s A Total Waste of Makeup, and Melissa Pimental’s Love By The Book, it shows that love on the sweet side can exist for the modern girl, if only she’s willing to trust herself and search hard enough.

Been Searching for You was the winner of the 2015 Romance Writers of America Great Expectations and Golden Rose contests.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780996763165
Publisher: Lawson Gartner Publishing
Publication date: 04/02/2016
Pages: 312
Product dimensions: 5.50(w) x 8.50(h) x 0.70(d)

About the Author

Nicole Evelina is an award-winning historical fiction and romantic comedy writer. Her most recent novel is Camelot's Queen, the second book in an Arthurian legend trilogy that tells Guinevere's life story from her point of view.

Her debut novel, Daughter of Destiny, the first book of the Guinevere's Tale trilogy, took first place in the legend/legacy category of the 2015 Chatelaine Awards for Women's Fiction/Romance, and was short-listed for the Chaucer Award for Historical Fiction. Her upcoming novel, Been Searching for You (May 10), a romantic comedy, won the 2015 Romance Writers of America (RWA) Great Expectations and Golden Rose contests. Later this year, she will release Madame Presidentess (July 25), a historical novel about Victoria Woodhull, America's first female Presidential candidate, which was the first place winner in the Women's US History category of the 2015 Chaucer Awards for Historical Fiction.

Nicole is one of only six authors who completed a week-long writing intensive taught by #1 New York Times bestselling author Deborah Harkness. Nicole has traveled to England twice to research the Guinevere's Tale trilogy, where she consulted with internationally acclaimed author and historian Geoffrey Ashe, as well as Arthurian/Glastonbury expert Jaime George, the man who helped Marion Zimmer Bradley research The Mists of Avalon.

Nicole is a member of and book reviewer for the The Historical Novel Society, and Sirens (a group supporting female fantasy authors), as well as a member of the Historical Writers of America, Women's Fiction Writers Association, Romance Writers of America, the St. Louis Writer's Guild, Women Writing the West, Broad Universe (promoting women in fantasy, science fiction and horror), Alliance of Independent Authors and the Independent Book Publishers Association.

Her website is http://nicoleevelina.com.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Been Searching for You 4.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 4 reviews.
indiebrag More than 1 year ago
We are proud to announce that BEEN SEARCHING FOR YOU by Nicole Evelina is a B.R.A.G.Medallion Honoree. This tells a reader that this book is well worth their time and money!
ReadersFavorite More than 1 year ago
Reviewed by Kerliza Foon for Readers' Favorite Been Searching for You by Nicole Evelina is a realistic, enchanting love story that is inspiring. Annabeth is a hopeless romantic who has a yearly tradition of writing to her future love. Determined to change her single status, and with help from her friends, she tries out different events, hoping to meet Mr Right. But how will she know who is Mr. Right? Is he the one she meets from the dating website? Or is he an old friend she reconnects with? Take a leap and join Annabeth on her journey to find her soul mate. I loved this book. Nicole Evelina's novel touched my heart and I couldn't put it down. The romance was especially sweet, but was tempered by the drama of what it really means to be in a relationship. The getting to know someone, the compromises, and the mixing of work and home. Each aspect was showcased and it only made the relationship that much more enjoyable. While there were some characters which I rooted for more than others, I enjoyed their multifaceted personalities, and when it came to the romantic gestures, I fell in love a little bit more. The plot was well written and not overtly sexual, and while chemistry is essential with your potential mate, so is the meeting of minds. Evelina blended both themes very well that showcased the characters' flaws and strengths very clearly. I recommend this book to all die-hard romantics and those who are looking for something new to try. A wonderful book to read and share with your friends.
JerseyGirlBookReviews More than 1 year ago
In Been Searching For You, author Nicole Evelina weaves a delightful romantic comedy set in Chicago, that follows thirty-four year old copy writer Annabeth Coe's journey to find her soul mate. Annabeth is a hopeless romantic, she has written a love letter to her soul mate every year on her birthday since she was sixteen years old. The long-standing yearly tradition has continued, and now on her thirty-fourth birthday, Annabeth is still filled with hope, and she promises herself that she's going to find her soul mate this year ... one way or another. Been Searching For You is an enjoyable romantic tale that engages the reader to follow Annabeth's journey to find her soul mate. Annabeth's journey unfolds in monthly chapters through challenging trials and tribulations of online dating, Meetup events, and three men who vie for her heart (artist Victor, college English professor Alex Grantham, and ex-college boyfriend Nick Zarrino who broke her heart ten years ago). Annabeth is interested in Alex, and when they are partnered together on a work project, their working relationship develops into a romance, but along the way life throws in some challenges that they need to overcome in order for their romance to blossom into true love. I really enjoyed following Annabeth's journey of self-discovery, and how her working relationship with Alex slowly builds into something worth lasting when she finally lets go of her traumatic past and learns to open her heart to love. I would be remiss if I didn't mention how much of a sweetheart Alex is, his thoughtful and caring way towards Annabeth definitely makes him the kind of guy that every woman would want in their lives. With a fun cast of characters, witty banter and comedic interactions, and a rich description of Chicago's landmarks, Been Searching For You is a wonderful romantic tale of finding Mr. Right that will satisfy every hopeless romantic, and leave a smile on their face. Disclaimer: I received a copy of the book from the author / publisher in exchange for my honest review.
MoRWAReviewsSTL More than 1 year ago
In Been Searching for You, Evelina spins a story that’s one part romance, one part love letter to Chicago, and one part nod to literature. Annabeth is a true romantic, writing notes to her future soul mate each year on her birthday. Alex is a practical professor with a head for books and a wit that makes Annabeth swoon. When a work project throws the two of them together, Alex and Annabeth realize they’re becoming more than just professional acquaintances. But just as their love story seems to be hitting its stride, life and work and misunderstandings get in their way. Evelina makes the couple fight again and again for their love, but it all pays off with a beautiful, hard-won happily ever after. Been Searching for You is perfect for those who miss the days of romantic comedies like Sleepless in Seattle and When Harry Met Sally.