Free Shipping on Orders of $40 or More
Before Familiar Woods: A Novel

Before Familiar Woods: A Novel

by Ian Pisarcik
Before Familiar Woods: A Novel

Before Familiar Woods: A Novel

by Ian Pisarcik

Hardcover

$26.99
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Wednesday, August 10

Overview

For fans of David Joy and Christopher J. Yates, comes Ian Pisarcik's haunting debut novel exploring the fraught nature of families and the inescapable secrets that are out to cripple them.

On the outskirts of a town too tired for its own happenings, the boys were found dead inside a tent.

Three years later, their fathers have disappeared, too.

Ruth Fenn's son was the boy they blamed. For three years, Ruth has accepted her lot as pariah, focusing on her ailing mother and the children left in her care by the struggling single parents of North Falls, Vermont. But now the additional loss of her husband is too much to bear, and she has no choice but to overcome the darkness or be consumed by it. But as she edges closer to the truth, she begins to uncover some secrets that are better left buried.

That's when she meets Milk Raymond, a war vet who comes home to find his nine-year-old son abandoned by his mother. Unable to find work, with no idea how to be a father, Milk turns to Ruth for help. But as the mystery of Ruth's missing husband deepens, the fragile stability Milk has created for Daniel is shattered by the ill-fated return of Daniel's mother, who will stop at nothing to get her boy back.

As these unsettled and interconnected lives hurtle towards a devastating conclusion, both Ruth and Milk are about to learn that their dying Vermont town has more secrets than they ever thought possible—and there are those who will do anything to protect them.


Related collections and offers

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781643852959
Publisher: CROOKED LANE BOOKS
Publication date: 03/10/2020
Pages: 304
Sales rank: 694,467
Product dimensions: 6.00(w) x 9.30(h) x 1.10(d)

About the Author

Ian Pisarcik is an author whose poems and stories have appeared in Roanoke Review, Lullwater Review, Maine Review, and Flyway Journal of Writing and Environment. Born and raised in rural New England, he currently resides with his wife and their Labrador Retriever in the state of Washington.

Susan C. Hunter is an in-demand narrator with a background in film and stage acting.

Neil Hellegers is a narrator, actor, and educator who lives in Brooklyn with his wife, son, and mutt. His voice work can be heard in various commercials, video games, and numerous audiobooks.

Customer Reviews