Blood Brothers: The Fatal Friendship Between Muhammad Ali and Malcolm X

Blood Brothers: The Fatal Friendship Between Muhammad Ali and Malcolm X

by Randy Roberts, Johnny Smith


$17.09 $18.99 Save 10% Current price is $17.09, Original price is $18.99. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Tuesday, August 27


The first book to bring to life the influential friendship between Malcolm X and Muhammad Ali

In 1962, no one believed that the obnoxious Cassius Clay would ever become the heavyweight champion of the world. But Malcolm X saw the potential in Clay, not just for boxing greatness, but as a means of spreading the Nation of Islam's radical message. Malcolm secretly molded Clay into Muhammad Ali--a patriotic boxing star in public, and a radical reformer behind the scenes. Soon, however, their friendship would sour, with disastrous and far-reaching consequences.

Based on previously untapped sources, Blood Brothers is the first book to offer an in-depth portrait of this complex bond. An extraordinary narrative of love, betrayal, and violence, this story is a window into the lives of two of our greatest national icons, and the tumultuous period in American history that they helped to shape.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780465093229
Publisher: Basic Books
Publication date: 11/01/2016
Edition description: Reprint
Pages: 400
Sales rank: 236,333
Product dimensions: 5.50(w) x 8.20(h) x 1.20(d)

About the Author

Randy Roberts is a distinguished professor of history at Purdue University. An award-winning author, he has written biographies of iconic athletes and celebrities, including Jack Johnson, Jack Dempsey, Joe Louis, Bear Bryant, and John Wayne. Roberts lives in Lafayette, Indiana.

Johnny Smith is an assistant professor of American history at Georgia Tech. He is the author of The Sons of Westwood: John Wooden, UCLA, and the Dynasty that Changed College Basketball. Smith lives in Atlanta, Georgia.

Table of Contents

Preface: A Dream Deferred
Prologue: Behind the Veil
1. The Mother Ship in Miami
2. God’s Angry Man
3. “Who Made Me Is Me
4. In Cold Blood
5. The Winter of Boxing
6. Apollo
7. Hide Your Cat
8. The Great Pretender
9. Back to the Grave
10. Trouble in Miami
11. The Crusade
12. Free to Be Me
13. The Shakeup
14. An American Nightmare
15. King of the World
16. The Muslim Champ
17. Worthy of Death
Epilogue: Once the Hate Is Gone

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews