Pub. Date:
Can't Give It Away on Seventh Avenue: The Rolling Stones and New York City

Can't Give It Away on Seventh Avenue: The Rolling Stones and New York City

by Christopher McKittrick


View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Monday, October 25


A complete history of The Rolling Stones in New York City.

When the Rolling Stones first arrived at JFK Airport in June 1964, they hadn’t even had a hit record in America. By the end of the decade, they were mobbed by packed audiences at Madison Square Garden and were the toast of New York City’s media and celebrity scene.

More than fifty years later, the history of New York City and the Rolling Stones have entwined and paralleled, with the group playing in nearly all of the Big Apple’s legendary venues. Along the way Mick Jagger, Keith Richards, and the rest of the Stones have left an impact on the culture of the city, from the turbulent “Fun City” of the 1960s and ’70s through the twenty-first century. The evolving career of the Stones has often reflected the cultural changes of the city, as the Stones and their music were the center of social and political controversies during the same era that New York faced similar challenges.

Can’t Give It Away on Seventh Avenue: The Rolling Stones and New York City explores the history of the group through the prism of New York. It is a highly detailed document of the dynamic and reciprocal relationship between the world’s most famous band and America’s most famous city as well as an absorbing chronicle of the remarkable impact the city has had on the band’s music and career.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781642930399
Publisher: Post Hill Press
Publication date: 06/25/2019
Pages: 256
Sales rank: 1,136,018
Product dimensions: 5.90(w) x 8.90(h) x 0.70(d)

About the Author

Christopher McKittrick’s publications include five entries in 100 Entertainers Who Changed America (Greenwood) and “The Secret History of New York Blues” in Artefact magazine. Christopher and his work have been quoted in The Wall Street Journal, The New York Times, Newsday, and

Table of Contents

Prologue "This Town's Gonna Make It" 1

Chapter 1 "I'm Goin' to New York" 9

Chapter 2 "Let's Spend Some Time Together" 28

Chapter 3 "Get Yer Ya-Ya's Out!" 53

Chapter 4 "If I Ever Get Back to Fun City" 68

Chapter 5 "Been Ten Thousand Miles" 87

Chapter 6 "Don't Mind the Maggots" 99

Chapter 7 "Waiting on a Friend" 114

Chapter 8 "New York Was Cold and Damp" 133

Chapter 9 "I See It as the Rolling Stones in 1989" 150

Chapter 10 "We Walk the Highwire" 166

Chapter 11 "Love Is Strong" 175

Chapter 12 "Anybody Seen My Baby?" 182

Chapter 13 "You Don't Fuck With New York, Okay?" 192

Chapter 14 "We'll Probably Do a Submarine Next Time" 200

Chapter 15 "Thank You, Juilliard!" 207

Chapter 16 "I Need a Yellow Cab" 221

Chapter 17 Fifty Years On 228

Epilogue "Still Surviving on the Street" 239

About the Author " 245

Customer Reviews