Chaos Choreography (InCryptid Series #5)

Chaos Choreography (InCryptid Series #5)

by Seanan McGuire

Paperback(Mass Market Paperback)

$8.63 $8.99 Save 4% Current price is $8.63, Original price is $8.99. You Save 4%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Monday, July 1


The fifth book in New York Times-bestselling Seanan McGuire's witty urban fantasy InCryptid series about a family of cryptozoologists who act as a buffer between humans and the magical creatures living in secret around us.

"The only thing more fun than an October Daye book is an InCryptid book." —Charlaine Harris, #1 New York Times-bestselling author of Sookie Stackhouse series

Destiny, Noun:

   1. The inevitable or irresistible course of events.
   2. The inescapable future.
   3. See also “Screwed.”

Verity Price is back on the West Coast and getting back into the swing of the family business: cryptozoology. She's rescuing cryptids from bad situations, protecting them from monster-hunters, and generally risking life and limb for the greater good, with her ex-Covenant partner/husband, Dominic, by her side. Her ballroom dance career is behind her...or so she thinks.

When Verity gets the call from the producers of Dance or Die, the reality show she almost won several years before, she finds the lure of a comeback impossible to resist, and she and Dominic are off to L.A. for one last shot at the big time.
Of course, nothing is that simple. When two of her fellow contestants turn up dead, Verity will need every ally she can find—and a couple she wasn't looking for—in order to navigate the complicated steps of both the tango and a murder investigation without blowing her cover. It doesn't help that her official family backup is her grandmother, Alice Price-Healy, who thinks "subtle" is something that happens to other people.

Winning this competition may have just become a matter of life and death.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780756408138
Publisher: DAW
Publication date: 03/01/2016
Series: InCryptid Series , #5
Pages: 368
Sales rank: 80,637
Product dimensions: 4.10(w) x 6.70(h) x 1.10(d)

About the Author

Seanan McGuire is a Washington State-based author with a strong penchant for travel and can regularly be found just about anyplace capable of supporting human life (as well as a few places that probably aren’t). Early exposure to a vast number of books left her with a lifelong affection for the written word, and led, perhaps inevitably, to her writing books of her own, starting somewhere around the age of eleven. The October Daye novels are her first urban fantasy series, and the InCryptid novels are her second series, both published by DAW and both of which have put her in the New York Times bestseller list. Seanan was the winner of the 2010 John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer; Rosemary and Rue, the first novel in the October Daye series, was named one of the Top 20 Paranormal Fantasy Novels of the Past Decade; and her novel Feed, written under the name Mira Grant, was named as one of Publishers Weekly's Best Books of 2010. She also won a Hugo for her podcast, and is the first person to be nominated for five Hugo Awards in a single year. You can visit her at

Read an Excerpt


Excerpted from "Chaos Choreography"
by .
Copyright © 2016 Seanan McGuire.
Excerpted by permission of DAW.
All rights reserved. No part of this excerpt may be reproduced or reprinted without permission in writing from the publisher.
Excerpts are provided by Dial-A-Book Inc. solely for the personal use of visitors to this web site.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Chaos Choreography 4.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 8 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The series is great, and this is the best one yet.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I've loved this entire series, but in particular, this book is STELLAR. Just delightful and entertaining and filled with joy (and also murder. Can't forget about the murder)
KimHeniadis More than 1 year ago
Woot! I am so excited that Verity is back. The previous two books in the InCryptid series with Alex and Shelby weren’t as enjoyable to me. You can see my review for book four, Pocket Apocalypse, here. It’s been awhile since I’ve read the first two books in this series that features Verity, but I would have to say that this one is my favorite with her so far, and that is saying a lot since the other two were exceptionally well written. It was exciting to step a little bit into the world of professional dancing and reality TV. I don’t watch reality TV (I use to watch The Amazing Race, and Big Brother for a season. And my husband watches America’s Next Top Model, so I’ll join him for a condensed version of that show, since we fast forward through all the drama.), but for years I’ve been waiting for a death to happen on the show, or a murder to happen because of this show. And although I can’t see the murders happening on the show like it did in the book, it seems like Seanan McGuire might have had similar thoughts. The interaction between Verity and her husband, Dominic was done well. I love how carefree Verity is, and Dominic is always there to back her up with his dry humor. Plus we finally get to meet Verity’s grandma, Alice, and she was a delight. So tough and full of life. Then of course we have the Aeslin mice, who I always look forward to in each book. And we also get to meet a few more InCryptids, which is always a treat. Finally, the action in this story was written very well, which is what I’ve come to expect with these books.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Seanan McGuire does it again. Great humor, pacing, mystery and dance!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
So glad to see Verity & Dominic back...loved them since first book. Great story & looking forward to next book. The mice just crack me up...just wish been more of them in story
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is the 5th book in the series and I must say I do like it. Actually I've enjoyed all the books in the series and I do hope she continues to write about this facinating world and characters.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved the book, this series keeps getting better and better.