Christmas at Hope Cottage: A magical feel good romance novel

Christmas at Hope Cottage: A magical feel good romance novel

by Lily Graham

Paperback

$9.59 $9.99 Save 4% Current price is $9.59, Original price is $9.99. You Save 4%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Monday, June 24

Overview

In the little village of Whistling, with its butterscotch cottages and rolling green hills, snow is beginning to fall. Christmas is coming, and Emma Halloway is on her way home.



When twenty-eight-year-old food writer Emma Halloway gets dumped then knocked off her bike, she’s broken in more ways than one, and returns to her family’s cosy cottage in the Yorkshire Dales. Emma hasn’t been back in some time, running from her crazy relatives and her childhood sweetheart, Jack Allen.



Emma’s grandmother is determined to bake her back to health and happiness, as the Halloways have done for generations. Surrounded by old friends and warm cinnamon buns, Emma starts to believe in her family’s special talents for healing again. But then in walks Jack with his sparkling hazel eyes, stirring up the family feud between them.



As the twinkly lights are strung between the streetlamps, Emma remembers just why she fell for Jack in the first place... and why a Halloway should never date an Allen.



The infuriating new lodger, Sandro, doesn’t believe anyone should have to choose between love and family. With a little bit of Christmas magic, can Emma and Jack find a way to be together, or will Emma find herself heartbroken once more?



An utterly gorgeous Christmas romance about the importance of family, freshly baked biscuits, and learning to trust your heart. Perfect for fans of Phillipa Ashley, Debbie Johnson and Debbie Macomber.

What readers are saying about Lily Graham:

There are not enough words in the world to describe how much I love this book!! I sat down after the kids went to bed and told myself that I would read for an hour, and three hours later I was in the same position, completely engrossed in Victoria and Tilly's world, and I knew I wouldn't sleep until I reached the end … one of the best romances I have read this year. I laughed, I cried, and I loved alongside Victoria and Tilly, and with the stunning backdrop of Cornwall, this story cannot disappoint – an absolute triumph. What are you waiting for???? Go and buy it now!!!Books of all Kinds, 5 stars



My anguished howl of “nooooo” as I finished ... was so loud I had to go and check I hadn’t woken my three-year-old … I wanted the book to carry on and on and on … I was caught from the very first, beautifully written, paragraph.’ After the Rain,



I read it in one sitting and so will you.’ Goodreads Reviewer



‘A brilliant story that is just perfect for a summer read.’ Ali the Dragon Slayer



‘Oh this was such an enjoyable book! … To sum up, The Cornish Escape is one enjoyable, feel-good book I totally recommend. You’ll simply be flying through it, devouring it in one sitting.’ This Chick Reads



Utterly fantastic, I just could not put it down. It had me gripped from the very start. 5 Stars!’ Goodreads Reviewer



‘I loved every second of it!' Rachel's Random Reads

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781786813015
Publisher: StoryFire LTD
Publication date: 10/18/2017
Pages: 262
Sales rank: 446,540
Product dimensions: 5.06(w) x 7.81(h) x 0.55(d)

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Christmas at Hope Cottage: A magical feel good romance novel 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 3 reviews.
gaele More than 1 year ago
A wonderfully crafted story that brings a small Yorkshire town and one quirky matriarchal family who is known for adding a bit of magic and hope into every creation. Emma Halloway moved to London for Uni – away from the grandmother and aunts and Hope Cottage with all of the expectations and burdens of family history that came with it. Before the age of 6, neither Emma nor her grandmother Evie knew of one another: Emma’s mother having married, left Whistling and redefined herself, leaving her history behind and Emma parentless when they perished in a car crash. So at 6, Emma was introduced to the magic that emanated from Hope Cottage, and in attending the local school, also felt the sting of ages old family feuds. Hope Cottage has been the Halloway home for at least two centuries, housing an ancient Aga stove, a kitchen garden and greenhouse full of herbs, and the women who use “The Book” to record recipes later used to fulfill hopes and dreams of those who come for help. While guaranteeing no promises, the recipes they create are said to repair relationships, improve health, luck, courage and more: buoyed up with the annual Good Cheer Christmas Cake that is believed to bring harmony to Whistling for the coming year. I’ve read a few stories with a similar premise: each special and magical in their own right – but here Graham brings the magic and change to Emma, one who wasn’t knowingly seeking answers. An accident on her bicycle left Emma in bad shape: beaten, bruised, no sense of smell or taste and scrambled vision, she returned to Hope Cottage to recover, worried about her own future and reeling from her breakup via Post-It Note from her long-term boyfriend. A freelance food writer that focused on the history of food – her hand and lack of eyesight are sure to be a hindrance, and her continued refusal to believe in the power of “The Book” and the sacrifices that have been paid over the years keep her morose and a bit snippy. But, even as she refuses to accept her history, the history and power of Hope Cottage haven’t forgotten her, and the slow healing combined with the solidity of family, old friends, the half-return of her first love and the on again off again warm relationship with her grandmother’s tenant have her understanding her own history and worth in the most unexpected ways. Full of gossip, laughter, struggles and redolent with the descriptions of scent, taste, and memories, this was a story that was a joy to read – total escape reading that is sure to leave you smiling and wondering about ginger snaps, lemon scones and shared cake. I received an eArc copy of the title from the publisher via NetGalley for purpose of honest review. I was not compensated for this review: all conclusions are my own responsibility.
Suze-Lavender More than 1 year ago
Emma's boyfriend dumps her in a terrible way and soon after she's involved in an awful accident. There's no way she can take care of herself, because she's broken several bones and fell on her head. That's why she returns to Hope Cottage, her family home. Evie, Emma's grandmother, will take good care of her and will make sure someone's always looking after her. Being back home will also mean seeing Jack again, the man who broke Emma's heart because of a family feud. Will she be able to handle being around him? Evie has a lodger, something Emma didn't know. Sandro is a Spanish cook and fits right into the household. Evie's cooking is special, something that runs in the family, and many people benefit from this, but it's an ability Emma can't let herself believe in. Sandro helps Emma to get herself back together again, but Jack has also shown an interest in her once more. Will Emma's heritage stand in her way like before or will she finally be loved for who she is? Christmas at Hope Cottage is a heartwarming magical story. I immediately loved Emma. She's sweet and talented, but tries to hide her passion for food and the family way of preparing it because of how people are treating her. She's lost herself completely because of her accident, which is sad, but it also gives her a chance to get more healing done. She doesn't only have wounds on the surface, there are deep emotional scars that could use some extra tender love and care as well. Her family has a gift, but Emma tries to deny hers and I couldn't wait to find out if she'd eventually embrace it, and therefore herself, or not. It's a wonderful topic for a book and I really enjoyed reading about it. Lily Graham's writing has a nice easy flow. She writes about the power of hope, family curses, true love and eccentricity in a fantastic enchanting way. She combines this with mouthwatering descriptions of food and gorgeous men, a perfect combination. Christmas at Hope Cottage is a terrific mesmerizing story that has plenty of charm, sparkles and romantic feelings. I absolutely loved this amazing book.
AliTheDragonSlayer More than 1 year ago
I remember the first time I laid eyes on this cover, I simply fell in love with the pink cottage (Lily may recall my squeal of delight on twitter!) so I knew without a doubt I would be reading Christmas at Hope Cottage as soon as it was available as an ARC. I adore Lily’s books and this one is no different. Her ability to wrap family angst and Christmas together is extraordinary and I always finish reading with a huge sigh and sense of satisfaction. Beautifully easy to read you immediately feel a part of the scene and included in the drama. This is a wonderful tale of hope with perhaps a little magic thrown in. Emma has her share of troubles and is back at the cottage with her grandma .. can her childhood memories liven her up or will past family feuds cause more hassle? Add in a delectable Spaniard and things may have the opportunity to improve! A perfect book to enjoy on a cold winter day .. Thanks to Lily the publisher and netgalley for my copy which I read and reviewed voluntarily.