Claiming Mister Kemp (Baleful Godmother)

Claiming Mister Kemp (Baleful Godmother)

by Emily Larkin

NOOK Book(eBook)

$3.99
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details

Overview

A forbidden love... 

Lucas Kemp's twin sister died last year. He's put aside his mourning clothes, but not his heartache. If Lucas ever needed a friend, it's now—and who should walk in his door but Lieutenant Thomas Matlock...

Lucas and Tom are more than just best friends; they've been in love with each other for years. In love with each other—and pretending not to know it.

But this time, Tom's not going to ignore the attraction between them. This time, he's going to push the issue.

He's going to teach Lucas how to laugh again—and he's going to take Lucas as his lover... 

"Heartbreakingly gorgeous. Tom is the most incredible hero - patient, understanding, passionate, sensitive. Lucas is so proper and stiff, his struggles so very real and poignant. I love Larkin's stories but this one is exquisite."
~ M.C.E. Top 500 reviewer

Length: Shorter length novel of 48,000 words
Sensuality level: A hot Regency male-male romance with sensual love scenes 
 

Q & A with the author


Why did you write this book?

When Tom and Lucas walked onto the page in Trusting Miss Trentham (the third book in the Baleful Godmother series) I fell in love with them both. I really wanted to know their story—so I decided to write it. I'm very glad I did, because it was so much fun! Lucas is my first ever virgin hero, and I really enjoyed writing his scenes. 

Claiming Mister Kemp was meant to be a novella, but it grew and grew and grew, until finally I had to admit defeat and call it a (short) novel.

How would you describe this book?

At its most basic, Claiming Mister Kemp is a friends to lovers romance, but it's also a story about grief, and about two men finding the courage to love one another in a time when this was punishable by death. I think it's the most emotional book I've ever written. Readers have told me that some scenes make them cry, which I take as a compliment! 

Claiming Mister Kemp is a Baleful Godmother novel, so both Tom and Lucas have brushes with magic—even if they don't realize it. And although this book is a companion novel to Trusting Miss Trentham it can be read as a standalone.

How would you describe your writing?

Several reviewers have likened my writing to Georgette Heyer, which is the hugest compliment ever. I adore Georgette Heyer! She's why I write historical romance, and I reread her books over and over. (If you've not read The Grand Sophy, please do so!) I've also had readers compare my writing to Courtney Milan and Mary Balogh, which are also massive compliments.

Who would like this book?

This book will appeal to readers who love male-male romances, Regency romances, or both. Fans of KJ Charles, Joanna Chambers, and Cat Sebastian should particularly enjoy it. 

Product Details

BN ID: 2940154240779
Publisher: Emily Larkin
Publication date: 02/06/2017
Series: Baleful Godmother , #4
Sold by: Draft2Digital
Format: NOOK Book
Sales rank: 101,290
File size: 808 KB

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Claiming Mister Kemp (Baleful Godmother) 3.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 3 reviews.
Vesper1931 More than 1 year ago
This fourth in the series is a romance between two men - so big mature content alert. The story of Lucas Kemp and Lt Thomas Matlock which started in Book 3 continues here as their story, and as it is set in the Georgian Period they must hid their affection. Can it be possible to have a happy ending. I enjoyed the story and found the two main characters very likable
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Did not enjoy this as much as the others in this series. It was a first for me reading about two men being in love and their physical relationship.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A muscular and hot man picked her up. He had shoulder length black hair and silver eyes. He brought her to the janitors closet. He locked the door and ripped her clothes off. He got out of his clothes. He was 8 inches long. " hey cutie " he grinned and rammed his di<_>ck into her