Counting by 7s

Counting by 7s

by Holly Goldberg Sloan

Paperback(Reprint)

$8.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Friday, September 28  Order now and choose Expedited Shipping during checkout.
    Same Day shipping in Manhattan. 
    See Details

Overview

Counting by 7s by Holly Goldberg Sloan

A New York Times Bestseller

In the tradition of Out of My Mind, Wonder, and Mockingbird, this is an intensely moving middle grade novel about being an outsider, coping with loss, and discovering the true meaning of family.

Willow Chance is a twelve-year-old genius, obsessed with nature and diagnosing medical conditions, who finds it comforting to count by 7s. It has never been easy for her to connect with anyone other than her adoptive parents, but that hasn’t kept her from leading a quietly happy life . . . until now.
 
Suddenly Willow’s world is tragically changed when her parents both die in a car crash, leaving her alone in a baffling world. The triumph of this book is that it is not a tragedy. This extraordinarily odd, but extraordinarily endearing, girl manages to push through her grief. Her journey to find a fascinatingly diverse and fully believable surrogate family is a joy and a revelation to read.
  


* “Willow's story is one of renewal, and her journey of rebuilding the ties that unite people as a family will stay in readers' hearts long after the last page.”—School Library Journal starred review

* “A graceful, meaningful tale featuring a cast of charming, well-rounded characters who learn sweet—but never cloying—lessons about resourcefulness, community, and true resilience in the face of loss.”—Booklist starred review

* “What sets this novel apart from the average orphan-finds-a-home book is its lack of sentimentality, its truly multicultural cast (Willow describes herself as a “person of color”; Mai and Quang-ha are of mixed Vietnamese, African American, and Mexican ancestry), and its tone. . . . Poignant.”—The Horn Book starred review

"In achingly beautiful prose, Holly Goldberg Sloan has written a delightful tale of transformation that’s a celebration of life in all its wondrous, hilarious and confounding glory. Counting by 7s is a triumph."—Maria Semple, author of Where’d You Go, Bernadette

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780142422861
Publisher: Penguin Young Readers Group
Publication date: 09/16/2014
Edition description: Reprint
Pages: 416
Sales rank: 1,160
Product dimensions: 5.10(w) x 7.70(h) x 1.10(d)
Lexile: 770L (what's this?)
Age Range: 10 - 14 Years

About the Author

Holly Goldberg Sloan  (www.hollygoldbergsloan.com) was born in Ann Arbor, Michigan and spent her childhood living in Holland, Istanbul, Turkey, Washington DC, Berkeley, California and Eugene, Oregon. After graduating from Wellesley College and spending some time as an advertising copywriter, she began writing family feature films, including Angels in the Outfield and Made in AmericaCounting by 7s, her first middle-grade novel, was a New York Times Bestseller. The mother of two sons, Holly lives with her husband in Santa Monica, California.

Read an Excerpt

chapter 1
(Continues…)



Excerpted from "Counting by 7s"
by .
Copyright © 2014 Holly Goldberg Sloan.
Excerpted by permission of Penguin Young Readers Group.
All rights reserved. No part of this excerpt may be reproduced or reprinted without permission in writing from the publisher.
Excerpts are provided by Dial-A-Book Inc. solely for the personal use of visitors to this web site.

What People are Saying About This

From the Publisher

Praise for Counting By 7s:

“A graceful, meaningful tale featuring a cast of charming, well-rounded characters who learn sweet—but never cloying—lessons about resourcefulness, community, and true resilience in the face of loss.”—Booklist (starred review)
 
“Bright and heartfelt […] an uplifting story.”—Kirkus
 
“What sets this novel apart from the average orphan-finds-a-home book is its lack of sentimentality, its truly multicultural cast (Willow describes herself as a “person of color”; Mai and Quang-ha are of mixed Vietnamese, African American, and Mexican ancestry), and its tone. . . . Poignant.”—The Horn Book (starred review)
 
"A deeply original tale . . . Readers will rejoice." —BCCB (starred review)
 
“Willow’s story is one of renewal, and her journey of rebuilding the ties that unite people as a family will stay in readers’ hearts long after the last page.”—School Library Journal (starred review)

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Counting by 7s 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 72 reviews.
jessmarisjen More than 1 year ago
There are few books I have read that I would describe as 'special', but Counting by 7s by Holly Goldberg Sloan is one of them. Twelve year old genius Willow Chance insists that her entire life be precisely ordered. She obsessively researches subjects until she masters them, including a current topic on how to form teenage friendships as she faces the beginning of middle school in a few days. Willow's matter of fact world view made me laugh out loud, yet tragedy does strike Willow's "everything in its place" world. I fell in love with the touching group of misfits who come together to form a surrogate family for this very special girl. There's that word again. "Special" is the only way to describe Counting by 7s. Willow Chance will stay with you long after the final page. (10 yrs and up)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is great. It has a lot of pages...about 350 pages, and is just amazing. Its about a girl named Willow Chance who loses her "foster parents" (and there family is really bonded) and is an orphan. She meets Mai and become friends...through the death of her parents and going into foster care. Now, I'm not going to say anymore incase I accidentally give something away, but all I'm going to say is that its definitely worth the money!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I LOVE this book! I could not put it down. It takes awhile to read, pperfect for car trips
Aaron007 More than 1 year ago
The protagonist of this beautiful story, Willow Chance, will storm the walls of your soul and make it her home. Holly Goldberg Sloan is a writer of immense talent and versatility whose take on an age-old premise makes this book a riveting adventure of the heart. Willow's voice is so unique that you'll ration the story as its pages dwindle. Sloan's prose pirouettes across the page with a depth, wisdom, humor, and range that inspires wonder, and laughter through tears. This instant classic will leave you with a special gratitude for a literary rarity: That moment when a story and teller are so finely matched the resulting book is a key which unlocks the mysteries of the human heart. COUNTING BY 7s will be cherished for many years by young and old alike.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Omg i love this book it is amazing i got it somewhere els for like 6or8 $ but buy it its worth it whoever likes it comment and write on heading "i love counting by sevens" by the way HAPPY VALENTINES!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is just plain out amazing!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Counting by 7's is a very heartfelt story with saddness and hope. Willow's story is very touching as she finds her way to a new future.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Counting by 7s tells the story of 12 year old Willow Chance, a genuis who enjoys plants and skin diseases. She finds it comforting to count by sevens. Willow lives as an outcast from the rest of her middle school, and observes the word analytically. But when Willow comes home to a tragedy, it is then she disvovers her true essence, behind the genius persnality. A wonderful story about hope, love, and famliy. For readers who liked Out of My Mind, Mockingbird, and Wonder. I reccomend to anyone!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Without spoiling the story it is about how families sometimes become a family by circumstance and finally, choice. It does a beautiful job of telling the story through the voice of a girl very different from many I have read
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Just started reading it . All ready hooked
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
So far i have read the summary of the book and i am wonering if i should read this book or not. It sounds like an astonishing great book but yet a sketchy one.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This may be the best book l have ever read. Willow Chance is smart, great girl. In the end, she really isn't an orphan. Her family is the people who took care of her.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was a great book i loved it. You had to think about what was really happening you must read!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is one of my favorite books.i felt real emotion for the charceters.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is amazing. The characters are perfect, the story is wonderful, and the author is able to write it in such a way so that it all flows together. I highly suggest this book!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Iloved it andread 200 pages in onee day!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
You have got to read this book it has lots of mood changing parts like happy to sad and sad to happy you have got to read this book and you might want to read this book again and it will warm your heart and when you are done reading counting by7s you have to read wonder because it is a heart warming book and it tells you not to judge a book by its cover and then read out of my mind because it will make you sad then hapy then mad ad then scared and then happy again and it tells you also not to judge a book by its cover
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It was great
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was so good, I couldn't put it down.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Vote wether i should read read this book or not by putting a review in I am super excited to find out all of you thought about this book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love its very touching and full of hope and sadniss my sister is in a reading club and this is one of her books i think its touching enoug to make her cry
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Iam reading this book right now it is an amazing but sad story the girl is so strong with what she is going through. #gowillowchance
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
majibookshelf More than 1 year ago
Willow Chance has just lost everything. Her parents have just died in a car crash, and she has no friends, being a quiet girl who doesn't make friends too easily. She is overwhelmed with grief. But she isn't. Willow finds a broken family, and they accept her. She takes everything around her and makes it better. And by helping the people around her, she finds herself feeling slowly better about everything.Willow is an amazing character. She is so inspiring and kind, I automatically liked her. She takes the people and things around her and makes everything better. In the mean time, she is also battling herself just as much as the world around her. I also liked a girl named Mai, I think she is my favorite character. She is stubborn and hard-headed (which I can be like at some points) but she is also very caring. I relate her the best.The writing in this book is in first person narration. It was a bit boring, because there was nothing really suspenseful; Not really too much of a conflict.Which is a bit annoying as you all know. That's what brought it down to a 3 star rating. The flow was a bit slow for me, as it was a somewhat childish read. I still did like this book. It was so cute, quick and inspiring. Recommended to teens and pre-teens ages 11-14.