Cut Short (Geraldine Steel Series #1)

Cut Short (Geraldine Steel Series #1)

by Leigh Russell

Paperback(Mass Market Paperback)

$6.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Wednesday, October 24  Order now and choose Expedited Shipping during checkout.
    Same Day shipping in Manhattan. 
    See Details

Overview

Cut Short (Geraldine Steel Series #1) by Leigh Russell

In the tradition of Ruth Rendell, Lynda La Plante, Frances Fyfield, and Barbara Vine, Cut Short is a gripping psychological thriller that introduces Detective Inspector Geraldine Steel, a woman whose past is threatening to collide with her future.

D.I. Geraldine Steel relocates to the quiet rural town of Woolsmarsh, thinking she’s found a restful place where she can battle her demons in private. But when she finds herself pitted against a twisted killer preying on young local women in the park, she quickly discovers how wrong she is ...

When an unwitting bystander comes forward as a witness, she quickly becomes the murderer’s next obsession. And Geraldine Steel is locked in a race against time, determined to find the killer before yet another victim is discovered. But can she save the lives of the town’s young women—or will Geraldine herself become the killer’s ultimate trophy?

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780062325600
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date: 12/23/2013
Series: Geraldine Steel Series , #1
Pages: 432
Sales rank: 997,274
Product dimensions: 4.10(w) x 6.60(h) x 1.20(d)

About the Author

Leigh Russell is the award-winning author of the Geraldine Steel and Ian Peterson mysteries. She is an English teacher who lives in the UK with her family.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Cut Short 3.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 9 reviews.
rtpana More than 1 year ago
This debut book from Leigh Russell has all the ingredients of an excellent British procedural and it sets the correct by following time-honored formulas. However, in the last third of the book, there are a couple of large gaps in logic and intelligence from the principal characters that really annoyed me. For example, if a witness receives a death threat from a known missing serial killer and reports it you would think that at least one policeman would be assigned to protect her AND you would think that she would tell her own husband. Well, not in Miss Russell's universe. I may read the next Leigh Russell novel because it was entertaining but if the glaring inconsistencies continue then it will probably be the last one.
KrittersRamblings More than 1 year ago
Check out the full review at Kritters Ramblings What started with a few short choppy chapters where not enough information was given became an interesting string of crime, but way too many characters to keep straight.  A DI Steel was at the heart of the investigation and could possibly be named the main character, but this cast of characters was ridiculous and really hard to remember all the moving parts. Thankfully amongst the cast of characters, the killer was introduced early, the reader was just waiting for the police to connect the crimes and find the killer.  The interesting part was trying to find out the motive behind the killer while the police were looking for the culprit.  Although, I believe some of their policing skills weren't up to par, I am not a professional (but I do live with one) so I thought maybe they should have done a better job in their police work at a few of the key moments. 
Guest More than 1 year ago
Leigh Russell's CUT SHORT is a book I had to read in one sitting. The first chapter is titled "Goodbye" and so an end is the beginning of this excellent new series. DI Geraldine Steel, a member of the Murder Investigation Unit, is just moving into her new apartment when she is called to Lyceum Park where a body has just been found in the bushes. The body is that of Angela Waters, a woman in her early 20's with long blonde hair. Soon the bodies of other women are found, all sharing the same characteristics and panic in Woolsmarsh ensues.The identity of the killer is learned very early on. His intelligence is on the low end of the spectrum and he is a paranoid schizophrenic. A woman responds to an appeal for people who were in the park at the time of the murder and Heather Spencer, a teacher at a secondary school, reports that a man she saw had a scar on his upper lip, a man who seemed to be talking to himself or an to an unseen partner in the conversation.DI Steel is assigned to listen to the messages from the public who call with information, all of which is seemingly irrelevant to the case. To add to Geraldine's problems she is being stalked by someone whose appearance is vaguely familiar.The author slowly introduces the members of the Murder Investigation Unit, creating three dimensional characters and leading the reader be believe that these are characters we will get to know well. Geraldiine has been on the fast promotion track but she knows that this can work against her as well.Giving the park the name "lyceum" suggests that the author is playing with the reader. In modern terms, "lyceum" refers to secondary schools, particularly those in Europe. In classical terms, the lyceum in Athens was a public meeting place in a grove named after the god of the grove, Apollo Lyceus. Secondary schools play a big part in the story and the discovery of the bodies takes place in a grove, the city park that has stong influence on the psyche of the killer.Everything in the book, from characters to the titles of the chapters move the reader along to a satisfying conclusion. This is an author worth meeting.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
[(Viewing from a hiden camera hidden behind the toilet.)] <p> "...cause baby I'm a firework!..." -viewer sees Moone singing at the top of her lungs to the bathroom mirror, brush in hand; replacement mic.- -brush is picked up and is used to draw a toothpaste mushtache above mouth.- -places hat on head and asumes cool position.- "Hey, babe..." -nods to invisible figure.- -sputters, flying in circles around the small space.- -camera is accidentally knocked from perch. The viewer nows sees the floor.- "Oh, shiz! White Raven!" <p> [(Camera now dead.)]