Daddy's Money: A Memoir of Farm and Family

Daddy's Money: A Memoir of Farm and Family

by Jo McDougall, Hilary Masters

NOOK Book(eBook)

$11.99 $19.95 Save 40% Current price is $11.99, Original price is $19.95. You Save 40%.
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details


Jo McDougall brings a poet's sensibility to memoir. Recounting five generations of Delta rice farmers, through family archives and oral histories, she traces how the clan made their way into the fabric of America, beginning with her Belgian-immigrant grandfather, a pioneer rice farmer on the Arkansas Delta at the turn of the twentieth century. As John Grisham has for a 1950s Arkansas cotton farm, McDougall illuminates an Arkansas rice farm in the 1930s and 1940s. The Garot family's acreage near DeWitt and the town itself provide the stage for McDougall's wry, compelling, and layered account of the day-to-day of rice growing on the farm that her father inherited. In that setting she discovers a rich "universe of words" in the Great Depression, comes of age during World War II, and finds her way alongside "that whole quirky, compelling cast of characters" that comprised her kin. In this conflicted, ironic, southern-but-universal account of betrayal, heartbreak, loss, and joy, "the vagaries and the grace" of the land join forces with the power of money as family bonds are both forged and dissolved. Deeply felt, unsentimental, and often humorous,Daddy's Money presents McDougall's life and the lives of her relatives in the way that all our lives are eventually framed-as stories. "When all else is lost," the author maintains, "the stories remain."

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781610754835
Publisher: University of Arkansas Press
Publication date: 01/01/2012
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 184
Sales rank: 655,257
File size: 5 MB

About the Author

Jo McDougall lives in Leawood Kansas. She is the author of five books of poetry, including From Darkening Porches and Towns Facing Railroads (University of Arkansas Press).

Table of Contents

Contents Foreword 1. Daddy’s Money 2. Red Wagon 3. A Footstool with Hooves 4. Mother 5. Pensacola 6. Against My Skin 7. Town 8. Daddy 9. Where the Saltwater Can’t Get at the Rice 10. Villa Augusta 11. City 12. A Circle in the Ground 13. Little Diamond and the North Wind Afterword Works Cited

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews