Dead Before Morning (Rafferty & Llewellyn British Mysteries, #1)

Dead Before Morning (Rafferty & Llewellyn British Mysteries, #1)

by Geraldine Evans

NOOK Book(eBook)

View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details


'A lively and highly engrossing British mystery.

All just-promoted Detective Inspector Joe Rafferty wanted for his first important investigation was a straightforward murder, that would enable him to get his man, and go forward to more complicated cases with confidence, leading a team who respected him.

What he got was a murder investigation in Elmhurst's private psychiatric facility that could have been designed specifically to leave him with egg on his face, his reputation in shreds, and with his disliked-on-sight new Superintendent, Bradley triumphantly vindicated in his assessment of his incompetence.

Right from the start, things go wrong—with a media always looking to sensationalise, and who hasn't named the victim 'The Faceless Lady' for nothing; with the chief suspect, a womanising psychiatrist called Dr Anthony Melville-Briggs, who thinks nothing of attempting a little bribery and corruption to achieve his aims.

And then there's Rafferty's family, who can always be relied upon to make him take his eye off the ball at a critical moment. Even his partner, Sergeant Llewellyn, is a high-moral-tone intellectual who acts as if his educated-in-the-University-of-Life boss leaves a nasty smell under his nose.

Bradley is hovering to crow and persuade the brass that he's been promoted above his competence.

Beset on all sides, can he make sure the victim gets justice, and that his first case as Senior Investigating Officer, isn't his last?

'Sharpens the appetite for more.' PUBLISHERS WEEKLY 

'The series has stand-out central characters and clever plots.' AUNT AGATHA'S BOOKSHOP, ANN ARBOR

Book Length: 218

Rafferty & Llewellyn British Mystery Series

Dead Before Morning #1

Down Among the Dead Men #2

Death Line #3

The Hanging Tree #4

Absolute Poison #5

Dying For You #6

Bad Blood #7

Love Lies Bleeding #8

Blood on the Bones #9

A Thrust to the Vitals #10

Death Dues #11

All the Lonely People #12

Death Dance #13

Deadly Reunion #14

Kith and Kill #15

Asking For It #16

The Spanish Connection #17

Game of Bones #18

Product Details

BN ID: 2940153355320
Publisher: Solo Books
Publication date: 01/28/2019
Series: Rafferty and Llewellyn Series , #1
Sold by: Draft2Digital
Format: NOOK Book
Sales rank: 15,317
File size: 775 KB

About the Author

A Little Laughter. A Little Mayhem. A Little MURDER...

British mystery author Geraldine Evans is a traditionally published author (Macmillan, St Martin's Press, Hale, Severn House) who turned indie in 2010.

Her mysteries include the soon-to-be 18-strong Rafferty & Llewellyn series of British Mysteries, whose protagonist, DI Joe Rafferty, comes from a family who think -- if he must be a copper -- he might at least have the decency to be a bent one.

Her second is the 2-strong Casey & Catt British Mysteries, with protagonist DCI 'Will' Casey, whose drugged-up 'the Sixties never died', hippie parents, also pose the occasional little difficulty.

She has also published The Egg Factory, a standalone mystery/thriller set in the infertility industry, Reluctant Queen, a biographical historical, about the little sister of Henry VIII, romance (under the pseudonym of Maria Meredith), and non-fiction (some under the pseudonym of Genniffer Dooley-Hart).

Geraldine is a Londoner, who moved to a Norfolk (UK) market town in 2000.

Her interests include photography, getting to grips with photo manipulation software, learning keyboards and painting portraits with a good likeness, but little else to recommend them.

Why not sign up to her (irregular) newsletter for news of new releases, bargain buys and free offers? You can unsubscribe at any time and your email address will be kept private. Here's the newsletter link:


Customer Reviews