Deadbeat

Deadbeat

by Michael Martin
4.3 3

Paperback

$12.95
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Get it by Monday, September 25 ,  Order by 12:00 PM Eastern and choose Expedited Delivery during checkout.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780595140527
Publisher: iUniverse, Incorporated
Publication date: 10/28/2000
Pages: 232
Product dimensions: 6.00(w) x 9.00(h) x 0.53(d)

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Deadbeat 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 3 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book's cover describes DEADBEAT as a hard-boiled thriller in the tradition of Raymond Chandler, and I agree with that comparison. It begins when Lisa Jones hires central character and detective, Frank Taylor, to find her brother who Lisa says has been missing for two weeks. Lisa believes foul play may be involved even though her brother has been known to go off by himself for a time to work out his problems. Even though Lisa is certainly not wealthy, she wants help in finding out what has happened to her brother. Frank's instinct tells him that Lisa's story may not be completely factual, but he does decide to look into the case and see where it leads him. Frank's experience with detective work has been limited to doing skip traces and fraud investigations for a credit company. This does not necessarily prepare him for the twists and turns he runs into while investigating Lisa's case. And that is exactly what makes this mystery good reading. I enjoyed getting to know Frank Taylor through this story as much as I enjoyed trying to untagle the lies and deceit Frank unearths while following the trail of the whereabouts of Lisa's brother. If I had to make a comparison between Martin's writing and that of someone else's books, I would say that DEADBEAT resembles the kind of storytelling Gar Anthony Haywood does in his Aaron Gunner series. I hope Martin intends to continue with Frank Taylor in future detective whodunits..
Guest More than 1 year ago
As a personal friend of the author, I will openly admit that I am somewhat biased. However, this does not change the fact that Michael has written one hell of a book. His attention to detail and the often subtle nuances of life bring a sense of realism to his writing that is always a pleasure to find. From the very first page you realize that you're in the capable hands of a first-rate talent. The style and voice are uniquely addictive. I recommend this book to anyone who is looking for a good read.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I highly recommend this book. It is an easy read that is both entertaining and thought-provoking. Mr. Martin's style is quite enjoyable. Can't wait to read his other works!