Discoveries [CD & DVD]

Discoveries [CD & DVD]

by Gustavo Dudamel


$17.40 $19.99 Save 13% Current price is $17.4, Original price is $19.99. You Save 13%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Tuesday, October 22


It's still quite early in Gustavo Dudamel's career to put out a greatest-hits collection, yet he has released enough high-profile albums on Deutsche Grammophon to warrant a generous sampler. To give listeners a clear idea of this critically acclaimed conductor's range and versatility, short pieces and movements from larger works have been selected from seven CDs to highlight his repertoire on Discoveries. From Beethoven to Bernstein, with touchstones along the way by Tchaikovsky, Bruckner, Mahler, Stravinsky, Revueltas, and others, this compilation demonstrates Dudamel's broad musical tastes and boundless enthusiasm for showstopping orchestral works. Conducting the Simon Bolívar Symphony Orchestra of Venezuela, the Gothenburg Symphony Orchestra, the Berlin Philharmonic, and the Vienna Philharmonic, he shows his exceptional aptitude for symphonic music, ballets, and tone poems, and delivers the music with fiery energy and drama. The 13-track CD is accompanied in this release by a DVD of "The Promise of Music," a documentary by Enrique Sánchez Lansch that goes behind the scenes of Dudamel's life and work.

Product Details

Release Date: 09/25/2012
Label: Deutsche Grammophon
UPC: 0028947903505
catalogNumber: 001725300
Rank: 84280


  1. Symphonic Dances (9) from "West Side Story", for orchestra (orchestrated with Ramin & Kostal): Mambo
  2. Conga del Fuego, for orchestra
  3. Le Sacre du printemps (The Rite of Spring), ballet in 2 parts for orchestra: Danse sacrale
  4. La Noche de los Mayas, suite for orchestra (compiled by José Limantour from the film score): 2. Noche de jaranas
  5. Danzón No. 2 for orchestra
  6. Symphony No. 3 in A minor ("Scottish"), Op. 56: 2. Vivace non troppo
  7. Symphony No. 5 in C sharp minor: 4. Adagietto (Sehr langsam)
  8. Samson et Dalila, opera in 3 acts, Op. 47: Act 3. Ballet. Bacchanale
  9. Festive Overture, for orchestra in A major, Op. 96
  10. Symphony No. 9 in D minor, WAB 109: 2. Scherzo. Bewegt, lebhaft - Trio. Schnell
  11. Nutcracker, suite from the ballet, Op. 71a: 2c. Danse russe (Trépak). Tempo de Trépak - molto
  12. Symphony No. 5 in E minor, Op. 64: 3. Valse. Allegro moderato
  13. Symphony No. 5 in C minor ("Fate"), Op. 67: 1. Allegro con brio

Album Credits

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews