Elephant Touch: A Novel

Elephant Touch: A Novel

by Susan R. Greenway
Elephant Touch: A Novel

Elephant Touch: A Novel

by Susan R. Greenway

Paperback

$14.99 
  • SHIP THIS ITEM
    Qualifies for Free Shipping
    Available for Pre-Order. This item will be released on September 17, 2024
  • PICK UP IN STORE

    Store Pickup available after publication date.

Related collections and offers


Overview

For fans of Sara Pennypacker’s Pax and Ali Benjamin’s The Thing About Jellyfish, Elephant Touch is a contemporary middle grade novel about overcoming grief that will touch the hearts of its readers.

Since the sudden loss of her mother, Quinn has been inconsolable. Her aunt brings her to volunteer at a Thai elephant sanctuary, hoping it will be a healing experience—but when Quinn learns about the previous abuse of the elephants she’s there to help, she’s overcome with even more grief.

While crying alone by the river one day, Quinn has a magical encounter with an adult elephant. She marvels at the elephant’s show of compassion, and they develop a strong connection. But when an orphaned baby elephant, also grieving her mother’s death, arrives at the sanctuary in fragile health, Quinn is afraid to get involved. To help save the baby elephant’s life, she must be courageous and use her newfound ability to connect with the elephants—not to mention accept the support of her new human friends. If she can channel her grief into action, she just might find the community and support she’s been missing. But can she find the courage to do it?

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781684632688
Publisher: She Writes Press
Publication date: 09/17/2024
Pages: 160
Product dimensions: 5.50(w) x 8.50(h) x (d)
Age Range: 10 - 12 Years

About the Author

Susan R. Greenway grew up in California, where she was fortunate to live in a family that loved books, music, and the beauty of nature. In addition to reading and writing, Susan also loves being in the mountains or at the ocean. Formerly, she was an elementary school teacher and a reading specialist, vocations that helped her rediscover her love of children’s books. Elephant Touch is her debut book, inspired by an experience she had with an elephant in Thailand. Susan lives in Redmond, Washington, with her husband and their dog.
From the B&N Reads Blog

Customer Reviews