Ella's Ice-Cream Summer: A laugh out loud romantic comedy with extra sprinkles

Ella's Ice-Cream Summer: A laugh out loud romantic comedy with extra sprinkles

by Sue Watson

Paperback

$11.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, May 30

Overview

Ella’s life just hit rock-bottom, but can a summer by the sea mend her broken heart? When life gives you lemons… make ice-cream!

Life hasn’t always been easy for single mum Ella, but she has just hit an all-time low; she’s jobless, loveless, very nearly homeless and, to make matters worse, now the owner of a pocket-sized pooch with a better wardrobe than her.

Packing her bags (and a bigger one for the dog), Ella sets off for the seaside town of Appledore in Devon to re-live the magical summers of her youth and claim her portion of the family ice-cream business: a clapped-out ice-cream van and a complicated mess of secrets.

There she meets gorgeous and free-spirited solicitor, Ben, who sees things differently: with a little bit of TLC he has a plan to get the van – and Ella – back up and running in no time.

Ella’s Ice-Cream Summer is a heart-warming and hilarious romance that will scoop you off your feet and prove it’s never too late for a fresh start. The ideal holiday read for fans of Lucy Diamond, Abby Clements and Debbie Johnson.

What readers are saying about Ella’s Ice-Cream Summer:

I just loved every single page of this book…Everything about this book made me want to keep going, keep reading. It's fun, it's summer, it's everything you want from a feel good heart-warming read. An exceptional read, and one I think everyone should read.’ I Love reading 5*

‘Delving into Ella's Ice Cream Summer is a pure delight… I would highly recommend this book to anyone! I read this whole book with a smile on my face and devoured every single page. It was deliciously good! I’m delighted that there is a second book on its way extremely soon and I for one will be first in the queue for it. Sue Watson you are an amazing writer!Goodreads 5*

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781786811691
Publisher: Bookouture
Publication date: 05/11/2017
Series: Ice-Cream Cafe , #1
Pages: 334
Sales rank: 752,678
Product dimensions: 6.00(w) x 1.25(h) x 9.00(d)

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Ella's Ice-Cream Summer: A laugh out loud romantic comedy with extra sprinkles 4.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 3 reviews.
Liinareads More than 1 year ago
Ella is a single mum, whose children are about to fly the nest and discover the world by themselves. When Ella hears about her aunt’s death, she goes to Appledore to attend her funeral and there she finds out that her aunt has left her an ice-cream van. She makes a decision to go back to Appledore for the summer and have time for herself. Ella wanted her mother to come with her, but she refuses to go back to Appledore and Ella figures there must be a reason, but her mum refuses to talk about it. Going to Appledore was suppose to be a fun summer adventure, but in time secrets are slowly unveiling. What is Ella’s mum hiding from her? It’s a well written and fun summery book. I liked that fact that there were lough out loud moments, but it also deals with more serious topics and there’s also the mystery that wasn’t unveiled until the very end. The setting and characters were superb, I liked the Italian vibe to it. Reading this book and not wanting and ice-cream is impossible! I really enjoyed reading about Ella’s summer and can’t wait to be back at Appledore.
moohnshine More than 1 year ago
This is the first book by this author that I have read. I received this ARC in exchange for my honest review. With that being said, I would say I enjoyed this book. The author wrote this book in UK lingo. So some of the words I was a little unclear of the meaning. I love reading books like that though. This book was warm and heart felt. The lead character of the story Ella has a lot on her plate. Her children are grown and going off to new adventures, her mother lives with her, her ex-husband is a pain and she inherits an ice cream truck. Ella decides she wants a new take on life and packs up and moves to run the ice cream truck and have a stress free summer. There is a big mystery to unravel. This book tells of love, heart break, family feuds and joy. The book is well written and flows well, even though I found it a tiny bit slow. The characters have very deep meaning and souls. The sex scenes are not raunchy but rather a PG_13 style. They leave some imagination to it. I definitely would read more from this author. I would recommend this book to the cozy reader.
Suze-Lavender More than 1 year ago
Ella is a single mother. She has two children and they're about to go away for the summer, spreading their wings. When Ella loses her job and her ex husband wants to have his share of their house, so she has to sell, Ella doesn't know what to do. She's responsible for her children and her mother, who's living with them, and all of a sudden they won't have a roof over their heads any longer. Help comes when Ella's aunt Sophia leaves her an old ice cream van. Ella loves to make ice cream and even though it's a big risk she decides to relocate to Appledore, where she spent many magical summers as a child, and have her own adventure. Ella's mother doesn't like that Ella is going to stay in Appledore, but Ella is determined to revive the family's ice cream business. She doesn't go there on her own, she's adopted a very cute pooch that will keep her company. Ella could use a friend and she finds one quickly. Ben, the lawyer who handles her inheritance is happy to help and spend time with her. Suddenly Ella feels free instead of lonely. Will she be able to make a success of her ice cream van and what will happen after the summer, can she find a way to keep everyone happy, herself included? Ella's Ice Cream Summer is a delicious story. Ella is a sweetheart, she has a loving and caring personality and she makes sure everyone around her is safe and secure. She also comes up with the most creative and wonderful ice cream flavors and due to Sue Watson's vivid descriptions I could almost taste her gorgeous creations. Ella is a strong woman and she never gives up, I admired how hard she works and the reward is that she finds herself while doing what she loves and slowly becomes more confident. The ice cream making clearly suits her and I enjoyed reading about all the ways she flourished. Sue Watson doesn't only write about tasty recipes, she combines amazing food with intriguing family secrets and I couldn't wait to find out the truth. There's something Ella's family doesn't want her to know and discovering what that was kept me on the edge of my seat. I enjoy reading about complicated family histories and I really liked this one. Sue Watson skillfully balances this serious topic with the lightheartedness of summer at the beach. She's emphatic, has a great worldview and she's terrific at putting things in perspective. Sue Watson writes about fascinating new beginnings in a fantastic heartwarming way. She has a lovely sense of humor and always makes me smile. Ella's Ice Cream Summer has a beautiful setting and Sue Watson makes it come to life incredibly well. It's clear she's passionate about the subject she's chosen for her book and that made it extra special for me. Another fabulous element is Ella's new dog, she's adorable and I liked her a lot. Ella's Ice Cream Summer is the perfect summer read. It's a fun mouthwatering story that radiates joy and happiness and is a fantastic ray of sunshine.