Entropy in Bloom: Stories

Entropy in Bloom: Stories

by Jeremy Robert Johnson
Entropy in Bloom: Stories

Entropy in Bloom: Stories

by Jeremy Robert Johnson


    Qualifies for Free Shipping
    Usually ships within 6 days
    Check Availability at Nearby Stores

Related collections and offers


A collection of cult sensation Jeremy Robert Johnson's best and most bizarre short fiction, including a brand-new, never-before-published novella.

For more than a decade, Jeremy Robert Johnson has been bubbling under the surface of both literary and genre fiction. His short stories present a brilliantly dark and audaciously weird realm where cosmic nightmares collide with all-too-human characters and apocalypses of all shapes and sizes loom ominously. In 'Persistence Hunting,' a lonely distance runner is seduced into a brutal life of crime with an ever-narrowing path for escape. In 'When Susurrus Stirs,' an unlucky pacifist must stop a horrifying parasite from turning his body into a sentient hive. Running through all of Johnson's work is a hallucinatory vision and deeply-felt empathy, earning the author a reputation as one of today's most daring and thrilling writers.

Featuring the best of his previously independently-published short fiction, as well as an exclusive, never-before-published novella 'The Sleep of Judges?' where the aftermath of a home burglary becomes a mind-bending suburban nightmare, Entropy in Bloom is a perfect compendium for avid fans and an ideal entry point for adventurous readers seeking the humor, heartbreak, and terror of JRJ's strange new worlds.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781597809252
Publisher: Night Shade
Publication date: 10/10/2017
Pages: 280
Product dimensions: 5.90(w) x 8.90(h) x 0.80(d)

About the Author

Jeremy Robert Johnson is the author of the critically-acclaimed cult novel Skullcrack City. His fiction has been praised by the Washington Post and authors like Chuck Palahniuk and David Wong, and has appeared internationally in numerous anthologies and magazines. Johnson lives in Portland, Oregon.

Table of Contents

An Introduction Brian Evenson xi

The League of Zeroes 1

Persistence Hunting 10

The Oarsman 29

The Gravity of Benham Falls 36

Dissociative Skills 48

Snowfall 56

When Susurrus Stirs 61

Luminary 70

Trigger Variation 78

Cathedral Mother 97

Swimming in the House of the Sea 115

Saturn's Game 129

The Sharp-Dressed Man at the End of the Line 141

A Flood of Harriers 149

States of Glass 165

The Sleep of Judges 183

Author's Motes 255

Acknowledgments 261

Publication Credits 263

About the Author 264

From the B&N Reads Blog

Customer Reviews

Explore More Items