Extraordinary Birds

Extraordinary Birds

by Sandy Stark-McGinnis

Hardcover

$16.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details

Overview

For fans of The Thing About Jellyfish, Counting by 7s, and Fish in a Tree, a heartbreaking and hopeful debut novel about a unique young girl on a journey to find home.

December believes she is a bird. The scar on her back is where her wings will sprout, and one day soon, she will soar away. It will not matter that she has no permanent home. Her destiny is in the sky.

But then she’s placed with foster mom Eleanor, a kind woman who volunteers at an animal rescue and has secrets of her own. December begins to see that her story could end a different way – but could she ever be happy down on the ground?

In her arresting debut, Sandy Stark-McGinnis offers an inspiring story about family, friendship, and finding where you belong.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781547601004
Publisher: Bloomsbury USA
Publication date: 04/30/2019
Pages: 224
Sales rank: 465,993
Product dimensions: 5.60(w) x 8.30(h) x 1.00(d)
Lexile: 700L (what's this?)
Age Range: 8 - 12 Years

About the Author

Sandy Stark-McGinnis is a debut author and award-winning poet whose work has appeared in Quercus Review, In the Grove, and Penumbra. She holds an MA in Creative Writing from San Francisco State University. Sandy lives with her husband and children in California, where she works as a fifth grade teacher.

www.sandystarkmcginnis.com

@McGinnisSandy

Customer Reviews