For Once In My Life: An absolutely perfect laugh out loud romantic comedy

For Once In My Life: An absolutely perfect laugh out loud romantic comedy

by Colleen Coleman

Paperback

$9.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Friday, September 20

Overview

‘Feel-good, funny, uplifting… Will make you laugh out loud and leave you smiling from ear to ear.’ NetGalley Reviewer



Twenty-nine-year-old Lily Buckley planned to be happily married and in her dream job by now. Instead she’s been single since being left at the altar three years ago, and works at her local paper, writing about giant vegetables at the village fete and a dog who looks exactly like Chewbacca.



Not quite what she was dreaming of.



So when Lily’s given the opportunity to write her own column it’s exactly what she’s always wanted – except what she has to write about. She has to do one thing every week that scares her.



With encouragement from sexy colleague – and adrenalin-junkie – Christopher, Lily agrees. From sky-diving to haunted houses, Lily is going to be pushed to her limit. But Lily is hiding something – the thing that she fears the most of all…



Ever since her heart was broken Lily has been afraid of falling in love again. Will fear hold her back once more – or can Christopher help her to finally find happiness?



An uplifting, feel-good story about friendship, romance, and finding the hero inside yourself. Fans of Marian Keyes, Mhairi McFarlane and Sophie Kinsella will love Colleen Coleman!

What readers are saying about Colleen Coleman:



‘I don't think I have laughed, chuckled, and smiled so much at a book before… I adored it.’ Goodreads reviewer



OMG, OMG, OMG I love this book!… Laugh out loud… Hilarious.Chelle’s Book Reviews



Absolutely fantastic!Stardust Book Reviews



I was in need of a smile and a pick-me-up and this gave it in spades. I loved it… For a really heart-warming, uplifting read with a smile, you can’t go far wrong.’ Nicki’s Book Blog



Ohhhhhhhhhhh this author doesn't disappoint!... I was able to lose myself in every word… Everything I could want from a book and more, deserving a rating of the entire amount of stars in the universe.’ The Writing Garnet



Inspiring and entertaining… I loved watching every step of the journey… I am very eager to see what else this talented author will write.’ Rachel’s Random Reads



I love the feeling when you’ve read just the first few chapters of a novel and you just know this is going to be a read you’re going to enjoy until the very last page… A warm-hearted, feel-good and simply great read that I didn’t want to put down.’ A Spoonful of Happy Endings



Colleen Coleman has done it again!... I read this book in one go… Highly recommended.’ Goodreads reviewer

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781786814951
Publisher: StoryFire LTD
Publication date: 11/20/2018
Pages: 264
Sales rank: 162,501
Product dimensions: 5.06(w) x 7.81(h) x 0.55(d)

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

For Once In My Life: An absolutely perfect laugh out loud romantic comedy 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 2 reviews.
gaele 12 days ago
Starting on Lily’s wedding day which didn’t quite turn out as planned, Lily is working her way through life: existing, not living. She loves her job as the lifestyles and human interest reporter for the local paper, even if her boss is constantly putting her down and has turned their little office into a warzone – where people ‘barely’ work and the paper is more adverts than news. Readership has plummeted since the new boss, and it is obvious that the paper is in major trouble. An email announces the arrival of corporate bigwigs, and the boss simply walks out. Leaving Lily as the only person in the room who seems to care about the paper. Despite all intentions that corporate had to close the paper immediately, they did bring in a consultant and set goals- increase readership by 22% in four weeks, add digital content and provide a newspaper that locals WANT to read, and the paper will survive. Lily is excited for the task, and the fact that the owner of the whole shebang complimented her writing and grasp of what the readers wanted. So, in a rather uneasy (at first) collaboration with Christopher, the consultant. He’s also aware that along with Lily, his hard work for the company in a prestigious internship program is also being tested – and he’s full of ideas and options. Clever and funny with some moments of true trial with her mother, Lily is a solid character who needed the boost of confidence the changes at the paper, and her coworkers’ confidence in her all help her to ‘dream bigger’ and think on her feet. Taking chances and challenges in hand, the only hesitation for her is the connection she feels with Christopher. Feeling very organic and natural, with plenty of laughs and characters that sing from the pages, the story is an easy, fun and engaging read. I received an eArc copy of the title from the publisher via NetGalley for purpose of honest review. I was not compensated for this review: all conclusions are my own responsibility.
RobinLovesReading More than 1 year ago
My Rating: 4.5 Stars Lily Buckley has spent the last three years getting over a tragic and humiliating experience. She was left at the altar and has rebuilt her life. She has been at her job at the Newbridge Gazette for seven years. Things gets shaky for Lily yet again. The newspaper is floundering. As a matter fact, it may just close down. But another chance presents itself. Lily suddenly becomes acting editor in chief of the regional newspaper. Things are certainly not cut and dried from this point on. Not at all. The powers that be have hired a team of people that includes Christopher, and he is a transformational consultant. The newspaper has a single shot of sinking or swimming. Ultimately it must be determined whether or not Lily and Christopher can work together to save the newspaper. For Lily’s sake it is to keep her job and career going in the direction that she has been focused on. For Christopher, this is a steppingstone to his future aspirations. Quite naturally, the entire scope of Lily’s job has changed. Christopher and the team decide on a unique approach to reviving the newspaper. Lily’s weekly column will now become a four page spread with a bucket list in which tasks are completed weekly. They are extremely hopeful that this will increase readership. Lily may be focused on the importance of saving her career, but her eyes are now open to new possibilities, and this was truly a delight. Lily experiences quite a lot while working on her bucket list. This required her to do things that she would never have tried before. While there is humor in the story, even at laugh out loud places, the story is rich with sensitivity and growth. We see the characters develop in certain ways and that makes the story very captivating. As readers are drawn into the romance that blossoms between Lily and Christopher, it is also a very touching to see how Lily’s relationship with her mother changes. I was very interested in things as they were working out. If I may interject, I must say I was impressed by the fact that one of Lily’s favorite activities was to curl up with a good book.. I rather enjoyed how this book is marketed. It is first a woman’s fiction, then a romance. I think this is important to mention because we get to see Lily grow as a character. Yes, lovers of romance want a happy ending. But Lily’s life was once turned upside down and getting the opportunity to see her achieve personal growth was very rewarding to me as a reader. The cherry on top was the romance that was indeed part of the story. This is the first book that I’ve had the opportunity to read by Colleen Coleman and I can definitely say that she is an author that I will follow in the future. Many thanks to Bookouture and to NetGalley for this ARC to review in exchange for an honest opinion.