Foreign Correspondent: A Memoir

Foreign Correspondent: A Memoir

by H.D.S. Greenway

NOOK Book(eBook)

$11.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
Want a NOOK ? Explore Now

Overview

Foreign Correspondent: A Memoir by H.D.S. Greenway

David Greenway, a journalist’s journalist in the tradition of Michael Herr, David Halberstam, and Dexter Filkins. In this vivid memoir, he tells us what it’s like to report a war up close.

Reporter David Greenway was at the White House the day Kennedy was assassinated. He was in the jungles of Vietnam in that war’s most dangerous days, and left Saigon by helicopter from the American embassy as the city was falling. He was with Sean Flynn when Flynn decided to get an entire New Guinea village high on hash, and with him hours before he disappeared in Cambodia. He escorted John le Carre around South East Asia as he researched The Honourable Schoolboy. He was wounded in Vietnam and awarded a Bronze Star for rescuing a Marine. He was with Sidney Schanberg and Dith Pran in Phnom Penh before the city descended into the killing fields of the Khmer Rouge. Greenway covered Sadat in Jerusalem, civil war and bombing in Lebanon, ethnic cleansing and genocide the Balkans, the Gulf Wars (both), and reported from Afghanistan and Iraq as they collapsed into civil war.

This is a great adventure story—the life of a war correspondent on the front lines for five decades, eye-witness to come of the most violent and heroic scenes in recent history.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781476761381
Publisher: Simon & Schuster
Publication date: 08/19/2014
Sold by: SIMON & SCHUSTER
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 320
File size: 4 MB

About the Author

H.D.S. Greenway has reported from 96 countries, and covered conflicts in Pakistan, Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Lebanon, Israel, Iraq, Vietnam, Cambodia, Laos, and the former Yugoslavia. He has been a contributing columnist for The Boston Globe, The International Herald Tribune, and Global Post, and has been a foreign correspondent for The Washington Post and Time magazine. He lives with his wife, JB Greenway, in Needham, Massachusetts. 

Table of Contents

Foreword xi

1 A Different World 1

2 Going to Work for Uncle Sam and Henry Luce 11

3 Assignments in London and Washington 21

4 Coming into Vietnam 27

5 Away to War, Home in Hong Kong 39

6 My Luck Runs Out 53

7 The South Vietnamese Hold the Line 71

8 The Americans Depart 73

9 A Curious Coda 83

10 The Fall of Saigon 87

11 Returning to Saigon 99

12 Covering Southeast Asia 107

13 On the Opium Trail 117

14 Laos: "The End of Nowhere" 121

15 Cambodia: Between the Tiger and the Crocodile 135

16 Indonesian New Guinea: Stoning the Stone Age Men 153

17 Australian New Guinea: Missionaries, Cannibals, & Cargo Cults 161

18 Muhammad Ali's Holy Wat 167

19 Bangladesh: Birth of a Nation 169

20 The First Washington Post Bureau in Israel Since 2000 Years 179

21 Sadat Comes to Jerusalem 193

22 Coming Home 199

23 Oman: A Colony in All but Name 205

24 Bad Days in Beirut 209

25 The Soviet Empire Crumbles 223

26 Balkan Tragedy 231

27 Saddam Hussein Goes to War 241

28 Baghdad Nights 253

29 To the Khyber Pass 261

Afterword 279

Acknowledgments 287

Photo Credits 288

Index 289

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews