Forsaken Duty

Forsaken Duty

by Elaine Levine

NOOK Book(eBook)


Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details


The only truth Owen Tremaine's certain of is that everything in his life has been a lie. Not only is his former fiancée alive, but so is their son...a child he never knew existed. Raised as a fighter in the resistance against a violent and secretive cult, Owen abandons his team, his family, everything to extract the woman he once loved and the son he's never met from the clutches of his enemy.

Adelaide Jacobs has only loved one man...Owen Tremaine. She grew up in the long shadow he and her brother cast, toddling after them as much as her brother tolerated. Owen's visits were the best memories of her childhood...until the day he saw her as a woman. They had one night together before hell took over her life in a war that's framed her world ever since.

Now she's a fighter too, battling an unknown disease that consumes a little more of her each day. She'll never forgive her brother for bringing Owen into her hell. Is there enough time to find the cure so they can have the future they both thought they'd never have? Or is now--this very moment--all the time they'll have?

Product Details

BN ID: 2940158854576
Publisher: Elaine Levine
Publication date: 11/30/2017
Series: Red Team Series , #9
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
Sales rank: 57,578
File size: 476 KB

About the Author

Elaine Levine lives in the mountains of Colorado with her husband and a rescued pit bull/bull mastiff mix. In addition to writing the Red Team romantic suspense series, she’s the author of several books in the historical western romance series Men of Defiance.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Forsaken Duty 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 8 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This 9th book in the series was so full of raw emotion and suspense as the team tries to unveil and takedown King before it is too late. There are so many levels of lies and deception that it is difficult to know who is trustworthy. I loved how everything pulled together to dissipate the current threats but still wonder what will happen next and how Selena, Jax, Lion, Casey and the other cubs will find their own partners as well has how all the team will heal from their experiences.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Each time a new book comes out, I reread the series. Just a once you start you can't put them down kind of books! Laughs, Cries, and lots of Love.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Wow. I started out wanting to hate this one. I wanted Owen to have his happy ending, but with Selena. I ended up liking the story and Addy by the middle. And by the end...oh boy, I loved them. I am sad it’s over. I am sad Selena didn’t get her happy ever after. But I loved this series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Was an amazing book, crazy how things came together into a big puzzle!!!
Wendy S Hodges More than 1 year ago
Finally we get some answers and some things get settled in this intense and suspenseful read, some is sad and not always easy to understand how families especially parents can have put their kids through what they have. There is excitement and a bit of violence as things come to a head towards the end. I felt for Addy and for Owen, both have had to fight in their own ways and Addy has been through hell. Both needing to understand what has been done to them and to find their son. Elaine has written a complex and intricate series that needs to be read in order from the beginning or it wont make sense, it is interesting and spell binding keeping me enthralled throughout. It is also a series I shall re-read at some point just so I can go through without the breaks of waiting for the next book to be written. Owen has always seemed a little distant but this book gives the answers to why, I love that he found Addy after believing her to be gone. This is a slightly futuristic type series but something that is also quite believable in this day and age of gadgets and technology. The continuation has been all kept in perspective so no gaps left, everything if not answered straight away does become clear as you go through the series and it is well worth reading.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved the conclusion to this series!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This series was wonderful , couldn't wait to read each next vook! But this book was by far the best book I have ever read!! I didn't put it down from the moment I started it about 10 hrs ago!!! I would recommend it highly to any serious romantic suspense reader, but you have to read them all in order and do it quick! Amazing!!
JKRindy More than 1 year ago
Elaine Levine -Forsaken Duty – (The Red Team Series, Book 9) I TIME EXPIRED: 6 months into their investigation in Wyoming. If you read the series, you know that in book 7 (Razed Glory) Owen Tremaine, CEO and Leader of the Red Team, disappeared after he was told he had a son and the love of his life, Adelaide Jacobs is not dead. So, who gave Owen this information? Wendell Jaxson Jacobs, Adelaide’s brother told Owen and said that Adelaide is dying so he must hurry. We find out that Adelaide and Wendell’s father, Senator Jacobs and his second wife, is deep in the Omni World Order (OWO) and he allowed the Omni to fake his daughters’ death and handed her over to Mr. Edwards. Edwards is very high in the OWO, but all he has done is abuse, beat and allow gang rapes on Adelaide. Three years ago, Edwards punished Adelaide by taking Augie, Owen and Adelaide’s son and placed him with the Watchers. Since Owen has shown up, Edwards has taken Augie and is hiding him. With all the brainwashing that Adelaide and her brother Wendell had, she doesn’t know if she can trust him. Her father and Step Mother told her that Owen was “King” the head of OWO and ordered the fake death and awarding Edwards Adeline and Augie. Don’t miss this book. You will receive all the answers to every question you have had since the beginning. It does not, however, completely tie up everything. The Red Team won the battle this time, but the war is not over. I am ‘guessing’ that the new series that is next will work on winning the war. Ms. Levine has indicated that Selena, the only female Red Team member, will start the new series. My guess is that Wendel Jaxson (Jax) Jacobs will be heading up the new team since there was a hint that Jax and his ‘team’ would join forces with Owen’s team. Why should you read this series? If you like action packed, heart stopping, white fiery passion in your Military Romance, then you MUST read Ms. Levine’s Red Team Series. She is in the top 5 authors that can pull off such a suspenseful Military Romance book. So, treat yourself to one of the best.