George Lucas: A Life

George Lucas: A Life

by Brian Jay Jones
George Lucas: A Life

George Lucas: A Life

by Brian Jay Jones


$16.99  $18.99 Save 11% Current price is $16.99, Original price is $18.99. You Save 11%.
    Qualifies for Free Shipping
    Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, December 14
    Check Availability at Nearby Stores

Related collections and offers


The essential biography of the influential and beloved filmmaker George Lucas.

On May 25, 1977, a problem-plagued, budget-straining independent science-fiction film opened in a mere thirty-two American movie theaters. Conceived, written, and directed by a little-known filmmaker named George Lucas, the movie originally called The Star Wars quickly drew blocks-long lines, bursting box-office records and ushering in a new way for movies to be made, marketed, and merchandised. It is now one of the most adored-and successful-movie franchises of all time.

Now, the author of the bestselling biography Jim Henson delivers a long-awaited, revelatory look into the life and times of the man who created Luke Skywalker, Han Solo, and Indiana Jones.

If Star Wars wasn't game-changing enough, Lucas went on to create another blockbuster series with Indiana Jones, and he completely transformed the world of special effects and the way movies sound. His innovation and ambition forged Pixar and Lucasfilm, Industrial Light & Magic, and THX sound.

Lucas's colleagues and competitors offer tantalizing glimpses into his life. His entire career has been stimulated by innovators including Steven Spielberg and Francis Ford Coppola, actors such as Harrison Ford, and the very technologies that enabled the creation of his films-and allowed him to keep tinkering with them long after their original releases. Like his unforgettable characters and stories, his influence is unmatched.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780316257428
Publisher: Little, Brown and Company
Publication date: 11/21/2017
Pages: 560
Sales rank: 143,983
Product dimensions: 5.50(w) x 8.20(h) x 1.60(d)

About the Author

Brian Jay Jones is the author of the New York Times bestseller Jim Henson: The Biography. He worked for nearly two decades as a public policy analyst and speechwriter, and has a degree in English literature from the University of New Mexico. He lives in Maryland with his wife.

Table of Contents

Prologue: Out of Control March 1976 3

Part I Hope 1944-1973

1 Scrawny Little Devil 1944-1962 9

2 Geeks and Nerds 1962-1966 38

3 The Right Horse 1967 68

4 Radicals and Hippies 1967-1971 86

5 American Graffiti 1971-1973 127

Part II Empire 1973-1983

6 Bleeding on the Page 1973-1976 167

7 "I Have a Bad Feeling About This" 1976-1977 215

8 Striking Back 1977-1979 246

9 Darkening Skies 1979-1983 278

Part III Return 1983-2016

10 Empty Flash 1983-1994 325

11 A Digital Universe 1994-1999 382

12 Cynical Optimism 1999-2005 408

13 Letting Go 2005-2016 436

Acknowledgments 475

Notes 479

Select Bibliography 527

Index 531

From the B&N Reads Blog

Customer Reviews