Girl in Trouble (Smart Girls series, #3)

Girl in Trouble (Smart Girls series, #3)

by Rhoda Baxter

NOOK Book(eBook)

$2.99

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details

Overview

Ideal for readers who like Jennifer Crusie or Meg Cabot.


"If the song "Miss Independent" was a book, it would be Girl In Trouble" Jocelyn on Twitter

Olivia doesn't believe in happy families. She can't trust men to be reliable, so she'd rather manage without one.

Marine biologist Walter is losing his daughter. He longs for a second chance to prove he can be a reliable dad.

When Olivia discovers she's pregnant by her douchebag ex, Walter finally sees a way to be more than just a friend-with-benefits to her.

But how can he persuade the most independent woman he's ever met to accept his help, let alone his heart?

Girl In Trouble is a standalone novel in the award nominated Smart Girls series. If you like warm, witty, closed door romance, you'll love this contemporary romantic comedy. Buy Girl In Trouble and have a good laugh today.

What readers are saying:

"Heartwarming. Funny. Sad. Just perfect." Texas, Amazon review

"I absolutely loved every second of Girl In Trouble, it's witty in places and utterly emotional at other times, and it deals with some deeper issues too." Rachel's Random Reads

"Rhoda Baxter's characters are the real deal. She writes heroes and heroines who jump from the pages to carry me along to their happy endings." - Sue Moorcroft (Bestselling Author)
 

"Sets up the sentimental situation only to send it spinning in entirely unexpected directions." Romance Novels for Feminists

"Bought this yesterday and practically inhaled it because I really really had to know how it ended before I went to sleep!" Madhuka, Amazon review
 

"If the song "Miss Independent" was a book, it would be Girl In Trouble" Jocelyn on Twitter
 

"I liked how Walter and Olivia complete each other. She can sometimes be a little too hard and he can be a bit too soft, so they complement one another beautifully. For me that was the biggest strength of the story, something I absolutely loved." With Love For Books

"If you're going on holiday, or a long train journey, you will devour this." Sandra Danby's blog (author and book blogger)

"The characters are what makes it - they keep you turning the pages as you're so invested in what might happen to them." Jo on Amazon

"There was a real punch of emotional depth - one minute I'd be grinning at what the characters were saying or doing and the next I was fighting tears. Highly recommended." KT on Amazon


"The pages fly by" - Goodreads review

Product Details

BN ID: 2940154904787
Publisher: Rhoda Baxter
Publication date: 10/06/2017
Series: Smart Girls series , #3
Sold by: Draft2Digital
Format: NOOK Book
Sales rank: 932,788
File size: 410 KB

About the Author

Rhoda writes contemporary women’s fiction with a hint of geek.

Back in the early 2000s, when she commuted into London every day, Rhoda read romance novels and wished there were more stories about women who were not obsessed with shoes. Besides which, where were all the nice men - the sort that rely on wit and charm rather than money and biceps?

Rhoda now writes the sort of books she wanted to read. She's lucky enough to have several books published by a traditional publisher (thank you Choc Lit!). Her books have been nominated for prizes and her articles have appeared on various websites, including USA Today.

In real life, she has a DPhil in microbiolgy, so if her pen name sounds vaguely bacterial, you can guess why.

You can find her wittering on about cake and science or making bad puns on her website (www.rhodabaxter.com), or on Facebook or Twitter (@rhodabaxter). Or, if you like, you can email her at rhodab@rhodabaxter.com. Please do say hello if you’re passing.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Girl in Trouble (Smart Girls series, #3) 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
Suze-Lavender More than 1 year ago
Olivia is independent, she can provide for herself, she has a nice apartment and she's perfectly content on her own. That changes when she meets researcher Walter. Walter likes Olivia's tomboy style and he isn't afraid to ask her to remove much feared spiders from his apartment. They have a connection, but life is complicated. Walter's ex-wife is moving to America and she's taking Walter's daughter with her and Olivia accidentally got pregnant by a man who proves to be a jerk. Walter would love to be there for Olivia and the baby and become a family, but is Olivia interested in that? Will he be able to win the heart of the most self-sufficient person he knows? Girl in Trouble is a fascinating romantic story. Rhoda Baster writes about smart people and I always love her main characters. Olivia can stand up for herself and she's fierce and self-reliant. Her father's absence from her life has made her wary of men and she thinks she doesn't need anyone, but she doesn't know what she misses until she meets Walter. Walter is a sweetheart. He sometimes stumbles through emotional situations, but he's honest and sincere. I loved his personality and I liked how Walter and Olivia complete each other. She can sometimes be a little too hard and he can be a bit too soft, so they complement one another beautifully. For me that was the biggest strength of the story, something I absolutely loved. It's a unique connection that I enjoyed reading about very much. Rhoda Baxter writes about complex situations in an open understandable way. I like that about her stories. She's honest and her main characters have real problems and flaws. They have to work through them and this process makes them grow as a person. I really loved that Walter and Olivia discover so much about themselves and slowly adjust their believes and behavior because of what they've learned. It's impressive to witness and Rhoda Baxter combines it with wonderful romance, which made me love their story even more. Girl in Trouble is a fantastic book.