Green Mansions: A Romance of the Tropical Forest

Green Mansions: A Romance of the Tropical Forest

by William Henry Hudson

Paperback

$6.95
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Monday, July 29

Overview

Modern classic tells the compelling story of Rima, a strange birdlike girl of the jungle, and Abel, the European who falls in love with her. The book owes much of its popularity to the mystic, near-religious feeling that pervades the story and the beauty of Rima's halting, poetic expressions. The author's knowledge and understanding of nature, the jungle and grasslands lend special authenticity to this captivating fantasy.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781722992521
Publisher: CreateSpace Publishing
Publication date: 07/14/2018
Pages: 124
Product dimensions: 8.50(w) x 11.00(h) x 0.26(d)

About the Author

William Henry Hudson

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Green Mansions: A Romance of the Tropical Forest 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 9 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
If you believe that all life of this earth shares a common bond (we are all connected as is our destiny), and you want documentation to bolster that view, read 'Green Mansions'. But don't stop there! Find and read Hudson's books on England following his emigration as a young man in his 30's. CHEERS!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This story of ill-fated love set in the lush forests of Venezuela is surprisingly modern in its outlook on humankind's relationship to nature - and in its refusal to provide an easy resolution to its poignant narrative. Fans of Rand Johnson's 'Arcadia Falls, A Fable' - another haunting and mysterious book that uses a star-crossed romance to explore man's impact on the natural world - will love this.
jwhenderson on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
When I began to reread Green Mansions recently I instantly remembered why it impressed me so much. More than most other authors Hudson is able to instill the sense of wonder through his protagonist Abel who, while living by the Orinoco river in Venezuela, is drawn to the forest lands by strange bird-like singing. There he discovers a young girl named Rima and it is her story that takes up much of the remainder of the novel. Hudson based Rima and her lost tribe on persistent rumors about a tribe of white people who lived in the mountains. Temple paintings often showed light-skinned people, and Spanish Conquistadors were at first thought to be gods. I first read this novel when I was in high school and the memory of its' evocative and lyrical prose has lingered over the intervening decades. The story is one of people who are almost in an original state of nature, a romantic, if flawed, view that suggests their world may be better than civilization.Green Mansions is one of the few novels ever to become an undisputed classic during the author's lifetime. It is a book I found to be truly enthralling and full of romantic magic making it a great read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Many people give this "classic" a rave review, but I did not care for it. The basic plot line is that the narrator comes across an absolutely enchanting young woman living in perfect harmony with nature in the Guyanan jungle. What did I not like? While often described as a beautiful romance, I found the narrator's constant mooning throughout the entire book tiresome. To boot, the narrator often express his sense of superiority over the primitive natives. (Perhaps this was characteristic of the times, but that does not make it good contemporary reading.) I found the idea that somewhere in nature everything would be living in perfect harmony to be naive. Finally, descriptions of simple events would often extend on for pages. As I admitted at the beginning of this review, many people are in love with this book. You might find it to your liking, but, as my own experience indicates, that is no sure thing.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago