Growing Up Golem

Growing Up Golem

by Donna Minkowitz

Paperback

$18.39 $19.99 Save 8% Current price is $18.39, Original price is $19.99. You Save 8%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Thursday, September 27  Order now and choose Expedited Shipping during checkout.

Overview

Growing Up Golem by Donna Minkowitz

In the tradition of Portnoy's Complaint and Alison Bechdel's Fun Home, Donna Minkowitz's Growing Up Golem is an incisive, often funny memoir about growing up inspired by the Jewish legend of the golem. The author's mother told Minkowitz and her sisters as children that she could do kabalistic magic, and growing up, Minkowitz believed it. Her mother, a compulsively creative and unusually powerful figure, exerted even more sway over Minkowitz and her sisters than mothers typically do over their offspring, so it is the "magical realist" premise of the book that instead of giving birth to her, her mother actually created Minkowitz as her own personal golem: a little clay servant designed to do anything it is ordered to.

In the book, Minkowitz struggles to control her own life, even as she publicly appears to be a radical, take-no-prisoners lesbian journalist. In her career, dating, even with friends - and especially with her own eccentric, hyper-sexualized, intellectual family - Minkowitz finds herself compelled to do what other people want, to horrible and hilarious effect. In sex, for example, she often feels like "a giant robot dildo."

Matters come to a head when a disabling arm injury renders her almost helpless - unable to use a computer or even lift a glass of water. She must find a way to work, find people who love her, and stand up for her own desires - against the bossing she's always tolerated from girlfriends, mother, and anyone else she meets - before her injury gets even worse.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781936833603
Publisher: Riverdale Avenue Books
Publication date: 09/26/2013
Pages: 218
Product dimensions: 5.50(w) x 8.50(h) x 0.50(d)

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews