Hacking Darwin: Genetic Engineering and the Future of Humanity

Hacking Darwin: Genetic Engineering and the Future of Humanity

by Jamie Metzl

Hardcover(New Edition)

$23.39 $25.99 Save 10% Current price is $23.39, Original price is $25.99. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details

Overview

"A gifted and thoughtful writer, Metzl brings us to the frontiers of biology and technology, and reveals a world full of promise and peril." — Siddhartha Mukherjee MD, New York Times bestselling author of The Emperor of All Maladies and The Gene

Passionate, provocative, and highly illuminating, Hacking Darwin is the must read book about the future of our species for fans of Homo Deus and The Gene.

After 3.8 billion years humankind is about to start evolving by new rules...

From leading geopolitical expert and technology futurist Jamie Metzl comes a groundbreaking exploration of the many ways genetic-engineering is shaking the core foundations of our lives — sex, war, love, and death.

At the dawn of the genetics revolution, our DNA is becoming as readable, writable, and hackable as our information technology. But as humanity starts retooling our own genetic code, the choices we make today will be the difference between realizing breathtaking advances in human well-being and descending into a dangerous and potentially deadly genetic arms race.

Enter the laboratories where scientists are turning science fiction into reality. Look towards a future where our deepest beliefs, morals, religions, and politics are challenged like never before and the very essence of what it means to be human is at play. When we can engineer our future children, massively extend our lifespans, build life from scratch, and recreate the plant and animal world, should we?

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781492670094
Publisher: Sourcebooks
Publication date: 04/23/2019
Edition description: New Edition
Pages: 352
Sales rank: 403,858
Product dimensions: 6.30(w) x 9.10(h) x 1.30(d)

About the Author

Jamie Metzl is the author of The Depths of the Sea, Genesis Code, and Eternal Sonata. Learn more about Jamie at jamiemetzl.com.

Eric Jason Martin is a producer, director, and voice performer based in Los Angeles. He is the AudioFile Earphones and Audie Award-winning narrator of over 200 audiobooks, including works by Kurt Vonnegut, David Foster Wallace, Karin Slaughter, and Lee Child.

Table of Contents

Introduction: Entering the Genetic Age xiii

1 Where Darwin Meets Mendel 1

2 Climbing the Complexity Ladder 31

3 Decoding Identity 47

4 The End of Sex 69

5 Divine Sparks and Pixie Dust 93

6 Rebuilding the Living World 115

7 Stealing Immortality from the Gods 139

8 The Ethics of Engineering Ourselves 173

9 We Contain Multitudes 199

10 The Arms Race of the Human Race 231

11 The Future of Humanity 259

Reading Group Guide 283

A Conversation with the Author 285

Political Engagement Guide 291

Notes 293

Additional Reading 335

Index 337

Acknowledgments 355

About the Author 357

Customer Reviews