Hearts in Defiance (Romance in the Rockies Book 2)

Hearts in Defiance (Romance in the Rockies Book 2)

by Heather Blanton

NOOK Book(eBook)

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
LendMe® See Details
Want a NOOK ? Explore Now


Hearts in Defiance (Romance in the Rockies Book 2) by Heather Blanton

Bestselling author Heather Blanton brings readers the second book in the highly acclaimed Christian Western "Romance in the Rockies Series"--a gripping tale of faith, love, and family...


Charles McIntyre built the lawless, godless mining town of Defiance practically with his bare hands ... and without any remorse for the lives he destroyed along the way. Then a glimpse of true love, both earthly and heavenly, changed him. The question is, how much? Naomi Miller is a beautiful, decent woman. She says she loves McIntyre, that God does, too, and the past is behind them now. But McIntyre struggles to believe he's worth saving ... worth loving. Unfortunately, the temptations in Defiance only reinforce his doubts.

Billy Page abandoned Hannah Frink when he discovered she was going to have his baby ... and now he can't live with himself. Or without her. Determined to prove his love, he leaves his family and fortune behind and journeys to Defiance. Will Hannah take Billy back or give him what he deserves for the betrayal?

Gritty and realistic, this is the story of real life and real faith in Defiance.

Product Details

BN ID: 2940156832972
Publisher: Rivulet Publishing
Publication date: 08/10/2016
Series: Romance in the Rockies , #3
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 368
Sales rank: 342,261
File size: 529 KB

About the Author

A former journalist, Heather is an avid researcher and skillfully weaves truth in among fictional story lines. She loves exploring the American West, especially ghost towns and museums. She has walked parts of the Oregon Trail, ridden horses through the Rockies, climbed to the top of Independence Rock, and even held an outlaw's note in her hand. You can learn more about her and her work at or Sign up for Heather’s email newsletter to receive the latest book release updates, as well as info about contests and giveaways (

Heather is the independent bestselling author of several Christian Westerns, including the Romance in the Rockies series, which has sold over 40,000 copies. Intrigued by the concept of three good sisters stranded in a lawless Colorado mining town, a few notable Hollywood producers have requested the script for her first book in that series, A Lady in Defiance. Heather’s writing is gritty and realistic. In fact, her books have been compared to AMC’s Hell on Wheels series, as well as the legendary Francine Rivers book, Redeeming Love.

She writes Westerns because she grew up on a steady diet of Bonanza, Gunsmoke, and John Wayne movies. Her most fond childhood memory is of sitting next to her father, munching on popcorn, and watching Lucas McCain unload that Winchester!

She can be reached several different ways:

Christian Westerns is the genre that lets her write about strong pioneer women and men who struggle to find God and then live out their faith in real ways. Romance is always a strong element in her stories because it is such a beautiful gift from God, and a perfect reflection of how he loves His children: sacrificially and lavishly. Heather's stories aren't preachy or cheesy, but she hopes they are heart-warming, realistic, illuminating, and glorifying to God. Like good old fashioned Westerns, there is always justice, a moral message, American values, lots of high adventure, unexpected plot twists, and more than a touch of suspense.

"I believe Christian fiction should be messy and gritty, because the human condition is ... and God loves us anyway." -- Heather Blanton

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Hearts in Defiance (Romance in the Rockies Book 2) 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
Robbi44 More than 1 year ago
This book, the second in a series of three, is the story of sin and redemption and centers around Charles McIntyre. It is set in the old west during the gold rush days. Charles, a godless man, feared by all – good and evil alike – built, owned, and controlled Defiance, a rough mining town. No one dared to cross him. In book one, three God-loving sisters came to town to open a hotel and Charles was challenged by one of these ladies (Naomi) as to the kind of man he was. Wanting to have Naomi’s respect and eventually her love, he began to examine his way of life. Could a man like him - with God’s help - change his ways? Would the changes be lasting when temptations came and stared him in the face? Was he worth redeeming? This story shows the struggles people face when their past keeps popping up to defeat them. I appreciated the author’s desire to paint the picture of a true sinless society and how it can be compared to today’s world in so many ways. I do suggest that the reader first read book one to completely understand all of the characters and the full rationale of this story. I’m now reading book three and understanding that even in a fictional story no matter what, there are consequences to sin.