Hunger Makes Me a Modern Girl

Hunger Makes Me a Modern Girl

by Carrie Brownstein


View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


From the guitarist of the pioneering band Sleater-Kinney, the book Kim Gordon says "everyone has been waiting for" and a New York Times Notable Book of 2015— a candid, funny, and deeply personal look at making a life—and finding yourself—in music.

Before Carrie Brownstein became a music icon, she was a young girl growing up in the Pacific Northwest just as it was becoming the setting for one the most important movements in rock history. Seeking a sense of home and identity, she would discover both while moving from spectator to creator in experiencing the power and mystery of a live performance. With Sleater-Kinney, Brownstein and her bandmates rose to prominence in the burgeoning underground feminist punk-rock movement that would define music and pop culture in the 1990s. They would be cited as “America’s best rock band” by legendary music critic Greil Marcus for their defiant, exuberant brand of punk that resisted labels and limitations, and redefined notions of gender in rock.
HUNGER MAKES ME A MODERN GIRL is an intimate and revealing narrative of her escape from a turbulent family life into a world where music was the means toward self-invention, community, and rescue. Along the way, Brownstein chronicles the excitement and contradictions within the era’s flourishing and fiercely independent music subculture, including experiences that sowed the seeds for the observational satire of the popular television series Portlandia years later.
With deft, lucid prose Brownstein proves herself as formidable on the page as on the stage. Accessibly raw, honest and heartfelt, this book captures the experience of being a young woman, a born performer and an outsider, and ultimately finding one’s true calling through hard work, courage and the intoxicating power of rock and roll.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780399184765
Publisher: Penguin Publishing Group
Publication date: 10/25/2016
Pages: 256
Sales rank: 158,049
Product dimensions: 8.20(w) x 5.40(h) x 0.40(d)

About the Author

Carrie Brownstein is a musician, writer and actor who first became widely known as the guitarist and vocalist of the band Sleater-Kinney and later as a creator, writer and co-star of the Emmy-nominated, Peabody Award winning television show Portlandia. Brownstein's writing has appeared in The New York Times, The Believer, Slate, and numerous anthologies on music and culture. She lives in Portland, Oregon and Los Angeles.  

Table of Contents

Prologue: 2006 ix

Part 1 Youth

Chapter 1 The Sound of Where You Axe 3

Chapter 2 That's Entertainment 11

Chapter 3 Disappearance 21

Chapter 4 No Normal 41

Chapter 5 Born Naked 51

Part 2 Sleater-Kinney

Chapter 6 Schooled 79

Chapter 7 Self-Titled 93

Chapter 8 Call the Doctor 103

Chapter 9 Mediated 117

Chapter 10 Hello, Janet 121

Chapter 11 Sellouts 129

Chapter 12 Dig Me Out 137

Chapter 13 The Hot Rock 153

Chapter 14 Help 159

Chapter 15 All Hands on the Bad One 165

Chapter 16 One Beat 177

Chapter 17 Opening Up 187

Chapter 18 The Woods 199

Chapter 19 Be Still This Sad Year 217

Part 3 Aftermath

Chapter 20 Shelter 225

Chapter 21 Home 237

Epilogue 239

Acknowledgments 243

Customer Reviews