Hurricane Lizards and Plastic Squid: The Fraught and Fascinating Biology of Climate Change

Hurricane Lizards and Plastic Squid: The Fraught and Fascinating Biology of Climate Change

by Thor Hanson

Hardcover

$23.49 $28.00 Save 16% Current price is $23.49, Original price is $28. You Save 16%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Wednesday, December 1

Overview

*A New York Times Editor's Choice pick*

A beloved natural historian explores how climate change is driving evolution  

In Hurricane Lizards and Plastic Squid, biologist Thor Hanson tells the remarkable story of how plants and animals are responding to climate change: adjusting, evolving, and sometimes dying out. Anole lizards have grown larger toe pads, to grip more tightly in frequent hurricanes. Warm waters cause the development of Humboldt squid to alter so dramatically that fishermen mistake them for different species. Brown pelicans move north, and long-spined sea urchins south, to find cooler homes. And when coral reefs sicken, they leave no territory worth fighting for, so aggressive butterfly fish transform instantly into pacifists. 

A story of hope, resilience, and risk, Hurricane Lizards and Plastic Squid is natural history for readers of Bernd Heinrich, Robin Wall Kimmerer, and David Haskell. It is also a reminder of how unpredictable climate change is as it interacts with the messy lattice of life.



Related collections and offers

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781541672420
Publisher: Basic Books
Publication date: 09/28/2021
Pages: 304
Sales rank: 34,636
Product dimensions: 5.40(w) x 7.80(h) x 1.30(d)

About the Author

Thor Hanson is a conservation biologist, Guggenheim Fellow, and author of award winning books including Buzz, Feathers, The Impenetrable Forest, and The Triumph of Seeds. He lives with his wife and son on an island in Washington State.


www.thorhanson.net

Table of Contents

Author's Note ix

Introduction: Thinking About It xi

Part 1 The Culprits (Change and Carbon) 1

Chapter 1 Nothing Stays the Same 3

Chapter 2 Mephitic Air 17

Part 2 The Challenges (and Opportunities) 29

Chapter 3 Right Place, Wrong Time 31

Chapter 4 The Nth Degree 45

Chapter 5 Strange Bedfellows 57

Chapter 6 The Bare Necessities 69

Part 3 The Responses 83

Chapter 7 Move 85

Chapter 8 Adapt 101

Chapter 9 Evolve 117

Chapter 10 Take Refuge 135

Part 4 The Results 151

Chapter 11 Pushing the Envelope 153

Chapter 12 Surprise, Surprise 173

Chapter 13 That Was Then, This Is Now 189

Conclusion Everything You Can 207

Acknowledgments 215

Glossary 217

Notes 221

Bibliography 247

Index 267

Customer Reviews