Iceman: My Fighting Life

Iceman: My Fighting Life

by Chuck Liddell, Chad Millman

Paperback(Reprint)

$14.40 $16.00 Save 10% Current price is $14.4, Original price is $16. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Tuesday, August 27

Overview

“The New York Times bestseller from the baddest man on the planet—with photos and a brand new chapter.

Chuck Liddell is the face of the Ultimate Fighting Championship, and superstar of Mixed Martial Arts — the fastest growing sport in America. In 1998, he won his first Mixed Martial Arts fight, soon after joining the UFC to become the #1 ranked light-heavyweight contender in the world. He is a walking lethal weapon.

Here, for the first time, is the story of Chuck Liddell inside and outside the Octagon—from his childhood in the poor section of Santa Barbara to the bloodiest battles of his career, to balancing life as a father, a UFC champ, and a superstar. With never-before-seen photos—and an all-new chapter added for this edition—Iceman is the true, no-holds-barred story of Chuck Liddell’s fight to become a champion.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780451225405
Publisher: Penguin Publishing Group
Publication date: 01/06/2009
Edition description: Reprint
Pages: 344
Sales rank: 599,472
Product dimensions: 5.90(w) x 8.90(h) x 0.70(d)
Age Range: 18 Years

About the Author

Chuck Liddell is the former light heavyweight champion of the Ultimate Fighting Championship. Liddell is a mixed martial artist with a background in kempo karate, in which he holds a black belt, Koei-Kan Karate-Do, Kickboxing, and Collegiate Wrestling. Liddell is considered by MMAWeekly.com to be the #1 ranked light heavyweight fighter in the world. An accounting major at Cal Poly San Luis Obispo, he still lives and trains in the SLO. Check out his Web site at www.icemanmma.com .
Chad Millman a deputy editor at ESPN The Magazine, is the author of The Detonators and The Odds and co-author of Invincible and Pickup Artists. He lives in Montclair, NJ with his wife and two sons. Visit his website at www.chadmillman.com .

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Iceman: My Fighting Life 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 22 reviews.
SavageBS More than 1 year ago
Any UFC fan will enjoy reading this book. Not only does it shine light on Chuck's childhood, training and personal life, the book goes into detail about the history of MMA (mixed martial arts) and BJJ (brazilian jiu jitsu) and Dana White (president of the UFC). Chuck Liddell is a mans' man and a legend in the UFC. One of the best things about the book to me was that Chuck never claims to be the baddest man ever and doesnt take any cheap shots at the other fighters, he simply tells his side of the story. Great reading for fans of Chuck and MMA !!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was a great book. Any fan of the UFC or any other kind of fighting will thoroughly enjoy this book. Not only does this book explain about his fighting life and career but it also talks about his childhood, his college life and also the history of Mixed Martial Arts and Brazilian Jiu Jitsu. It also talks about the president of the UFC, Dana White, who is a great friend of Chuck's. Liddell brought great messages to this book: Be willing to learn, and also it is better to lose as a man than to win as a coward. What I liked about this book is that he was not bragging the whole time about how good he was and how bad his opponent was. I also liked that Chuck talks about his hard life as a kid. I did not have any dislikes in this book. Any fan of fighting should definitely read this because he is a legend of the UFC telling his story of how he got where he was and how hard it was to get there. If you like this book I would also recommend "No Limits" by Michael Phelps with Alan Abrahamson. This book also talks about the success of his swimming career.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is a great book. Other than his life and rising versatility as a well-rounded figher, it goes into awesome detail on how the UFC rose up and broke barriers. Talks about a lot of things that most people don't know about Chuck and about MMA in general.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Fanntastic!
miggy82 More than 1 year ago
Great book..
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The best fight book i have read you will not be disappointed this book is fantastic
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
VII. Jon Jones is not the champ yet. I realize that's a statement of fact, and an obvious one at that, but it seems like a lot have people have overlooked it lately. I like his chances against Rua, but let's hold off on the coronation for now. Beating Rua will require more than simply showing up on Saturday night. VIII. Did Brendan Schaub leave his best stuff in the gym? Not surprisingly, this former pro football player has always been a bit of a gym rat. But after putting himself through a three-month training camp that even his coaches thought was overkill, you have to wonder whether he'll be fresh and ready on fight night. Aside from the ever-present threat of a head kick, the biggest danger to Schaub in this fight might be his own zeal in the gym. He's bigger, younger, faster, and more athletic than Filipovic. As long as he didn't wear himself out trying to compensate for the experience gap between himself and the Croatian, he should take this. IX. Has Eliot Marshall earned himself any goodwill with the UFC brass? They were so unimpressed with his first stint in the Octagon that they cut him after his first loss, which came after he won three straight. He practically jumped up and down shouting, 'Pick me!' when Luiz Cane was in need of a replacement opponent for this event, and that is the attitude Dana White says he loves. The question is, does he love it enough to give "The Fire" another shot if he doesn't win this very tough, late-notice fight? That's one query Marshall would probably rather not have to find out the answer to.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Kyle53 More than 1 year ago
Whether your an MMA fan, a Chuck liddell fan or just someone who wants to pick up a good book this is one for you. Chuck goes through his fighting career up untill 2007 and teachs about the growth of fighting, the ufc, and the lifestyle. Great book!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Chuck Liddell tells his story with so much detail. I highly reccomend this.
Guest More than 1 year ago
awesome book that tells you about chucks life growing up and his life as a pro fighter
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book was fantasic from start to finish. Great stories and lessons from the life of one of the greatest of all time. I highly recomend this book.