Pub. Date:
If These Walls Could Talk: New York Jets: Stories from the New York Jets Sideline, Locker Room, and Press Box

If These Walls Could Talk: New York Jets: Stories from the New York Jets Sideline, Locker Room, and Press Box


View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Wednesday, September 22


Having spent 11 seasons at defensive tackle for the New York Jets before later joining the broadcasting team as a radio analyst, Marty Lyons knows what it means to live and breathe Jets football. In If These Walls Could Talk: New York Jets, Lyons provides insight into the Jets inner sanctum as only he can, from the New York Sack Exchange days alongside the likes of Joe Klecko to the current roster helmed by Sam Darnold.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781629377513
Publisher: Triumph Books
Publication date: 09/22/2020
Series: If These Walls Could Talk
Pages: 240
Sales rank: 503,055
Product dimensions: 5.40(w) x 8.40(h) x 0.90(d)

About the Author

Marty Lyons played defensive tackle for the New York Jets for 11 seasons. He was selected to two Pro Bowls and was named the NFL's Walter Payton Man of the Year in 1984. Lou Sahadi is the co-author of several classic sports books, including Johnny Unitas: America’s Quarterback, Say Hey: The Autobiography of Willie Mays, The Winning Edge, the autobiography of Don Shula, and They're Playing My Game, the autobiography of Hank Stram.

Table of Contents

Foreword Joe Klecko 9

Introduction Marty Lyons 15

Introduction Lou Sahadi 17

Chapter 1 1960: The Birth of the Jets 19

Chapter 2 From Florida to Alabama 29

Chapter 3 My Rookie Season in the NFL 39

Chapter 4 The Early 1980s 49

Chapter 5 The Tragic 1982 Season 57

Chapter 6 Hiring Joe Walton and Leaving Shea Stadium 67

Chapter 7 The Middle Years 77

Chapter 8 Wesley Walker, Mark Gastineau, and the Wild-Card 85

Chapter 9 The Strike 93

Chapter 10 "Joe Must Go" 103

Chapter 11 Hanging It Up 111

Chapter 12 Dennis Byrd and Boomer Esiason 121

Chapter 13 The Pete Carroll and Rich Kotite Eras 129

Chapter 14 The Bill Parcells Era 141

Chapter 15 Franchise Turnover 153

Chapter 16 Consistent Playoff Contenders 161

Chapter 17 Mangenius and Favre 169

Chapter 18 Rex, The Sanchize, and AFC Championship Games 177

Chapter 19 Santonio Holmes 187

Chapter 20 The Butt Fumble 195

Chapter 21 The Todd Bowles Era 205

Chapter 22 Trying Times of 2016-18 213

Chapter 23 The 2019 Season 225

Acknowledgments 237

Customer Reviews