Indochina Now and Then

Indochina Now and Then

by George Fetherling

NOOK Book(eBook)

$7.99 $8.99 Save 11% Current price is $7.99, Original price is $8.99. You Save 11%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
Want a NOOK ? Explore Now


Indochina Now and Then by George Fetherling

Follow George Fetherling as he travels through Vietnam, Laos, and Cambodia looking for any remaining traces of the Indochina that was.

In Indochina Now and Then, George Fetherling recounts multiple journeys through Vietnam, Laos, and Cambodia, keeping an eye peeled and an ear cocked for whatever faint traces of French rule might remain. While doing so he searches diligently in village markets, curio shops, and rubbish bins, not to mention bookstalls along the Seine in Paris, for early picture postcards of Southeast Asia, the sort that native Frenchmen and Frenchwomen sent home to Europe.

The book is illustrated with 60 such images, most of them taken before the First World War. They evoke vanished ways of life in these exotic "lands of charm and cruelty" that have survived the wars and turmoil of the late 20th century to emerge, smiling enigmatically, as the friendly face of free-market socialism. In its prose and pictures, Indochina Now and Then is a travel narrative that will leave an indelible impression in the reader’s imagination.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781459700635
Publisher: Dundurn Press
Publication date: 03/03/2012
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 224
File size: 2 MB

About the Author

George Fetherling has been a significant figure in the Canadian literary world for more than 40 years. He has produced a long shelf of books as novelist, poet, memoirist, and writer of travel narratives. Three Pagodas Pass, Running away to Sea, and One Russia, Two Chinas are examples in the last category. He lives in Vancouver and Toronto.

George Fetherling is a poet, fiction writer, and voyager. Among his many books are Travels by Night: A Memoir of the Sixties and Running Away to Sea: Round the World on a Tramp Freighter. He published under the name Douglas Fetherling until 1999, and thereafter under the name George in honour of his late father. He lives in Vancouver.

Table of Contents

1 One of the Thirty-Six Streets
2 Lands of Charm and Cruelty
3 Souvenirs
4 Up the Peninsula
5 Dodge City R&R
6 Train 170, Overnight to Bangkok
7 Bangkok Noir
8 Hôtel Splendide
9 Telegrams from Angkor Wat
10 The Horror
11 A Bistro Tale
12 Going to the Market
13 Diplomacy
14 The Victory Gate
15 Capital Splendours
16 The Melting Buddha
17 The Target Zone
18 Among the Hmong
19 The View from Phu-Si
20 Buddhas and Bats by the Thousands
21 The Young Oxonian
22 Gongs and Other Remnants
23 Tidal Actions
24 Downpour
25 The Man in the Glass Coffin
26 A Broken Journey
27 Cracks in the Empire
28 Endgame
29 To Hell and Back

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews