by Gretta Curran Browne


Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Monday, November 26

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780995558229
Publisher: Gretta Curran Browne
Publication date: 10/31/2016
Series: Macquarie Series , #3
Pages: 272
Product dimensions: 5.50(w) x 8.50(h) x 0.63(d)

About the Author

Gretta Curran Browne was born in Dublin city where she spent some of her childhood years in the notorious Goldenbridge orphanage. Later she was transferred to a second orphanage in Preston in England, which was less harsh, and where, due to one special nun, she became acquainted with the magic of storytelling.

In her teenage years she moved to London to study Drama, working as a telephonist at night to pay her rent and attending Drama school in the day: after which she spent some years working full time in theatre and occasionally in television.

Her first attempts at professional writing began after her two children were born, and she became a full-time mother, writing at night when the world and her children were asleep. She began with two short stories, both of which won prizes.
She then began her first novel, Tread Softly On My Dreams, based on the true story of the young Irish hero, Robert Emmet. Published by Headline and critically acclaimed by the Press, Tread Softly On My Dreams was acquired by the University of Notre Dame in the US, and The Princess Grace Irish Library in the Palace of Monaco. This was followed by her second Irish novel, Fire On The Hill and later followed by her first contemporary novel, Ghosts In Sunlight.

Gretta's writing career was interrupted in full flow when her son broke his back in an accident and needed her care for some years. Now fully recovered, her son is a successful young actor and Gretta has returned to her passion for writing.
She is now an internationally published author with three of her books being published in all countries in Scandinavia, as well as Germany, Portugal, Holland and Japan.

Her third stand-alone novel JARVISFIELD which is also the third book in The Macquarie Series has just been published (August 2013) to be followed by the publication of the fourth and concluding book in the series, THE WAYWARD SON in September 2013.

Gretta is married to a lawyer and lives in London.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews