Journey Through a Dark Forest, Volume III: This Wood, So Harsh, Dismal, and Wild
Journey Through a Dark Forest, Volume III: This Wood, So Harsh, Dismal, and Wild

Journey Through a Dark Forest, Volume III: This Wood, So Harsh, Dismal, and Wild

by Ursula Hartlein


Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now


While the whole world is in the throes of one of the most concentrated periods of Sturm und Drang in recent memory, the Konevs and their friends far and wide struggle to survive and make their way back to some semblance of a peaceful, ordinary world.

Darya and Oliivia's stay in Paris is indefinitely extended when the Nazis invade and occupy France. Fedya and Osyenka are chomping at the bit for America to join the war so they can get into uniform to save them. When the war finally comes to America, Fedya, Vasya, Osyenka, and Leontiy enlist as soon as possible, and in Canada, Yuriy becomes an Army medic. But winning the war isn't going to be a quick or easy proposition, and there's no guarantee they'll find Darya and Oliivia, particularly after word reaches their families that they were taken away by the Nazis in November 1942.

Patya and Rodya have joined the Marines, and fight in the Pacific instead of Europe. Patya is a natural Marine, whereas Rodya is more scared in battle, and depends upon Patya to protect him. Rodya is desperate to prove himself as a brave, manly Marine who doesn't need his best friend to watch his back all the time, and that moment finally, unexpectedly comes during the Battle of Saipan. But Rodya still isn't satisfied with his Purple Heart and having protected Patya, and sneaks back into combat for the Battle of Tinian. Patya meanwhile is faced with the lifelong reality of the million-dollar wound which earned him his own Purple Heart.

A seeming miracle happens when Darya and Oliivia are taken to a Polish farm taken over by the SS and chosen as indoor laborers, but as 1945 approaches, they're evacuated deep into Germany before being sent to Mauthausen. Only the hope of being rescued seeing her family again, and her determination to protect Oliivia, keeps Darya alive.

Product Details

BN ID: 2940161307861
Publisher: Purple Tarantula Press
Publication date: 12/11/2018
Series: The Ballad of Lyuba and Ivan , #3
Format: NOOK Book
File size: 920 KB

About the Author

Ursula Hartlein, who also writes as Carrie-Anne Brownian, was born on the fifth night of Chanukah in 1979. Though a proud native Pittsburgher, she’s lived most of her life in Upstate New York and has also lived in Pittsfield and Amherst, Massachusetts. She was born in the wrong generation on several fronts, as attested to by a love of silent and early sound film, classic rock and pop, antique cars (particularly Brass Age), classic literature, and history.

She earned a bachelor’s degree from UMass–Amherst in History and Russian and East European Studies. Her areas of historical expertise are Russian history, the World War II/Shoah era, and 20th century American history. Other areas of interest include the American Civil War, Japanese history, the High and Late Middle Ages, prehistory, and Iranian history. Her ultimate goal is to one day have a Ph.D. in Russian history, with a focus on GULAG and the Great Terror.

Her favorite artist is Paul Klee, with whom she’s always been very proud to share her birthday. They were born exactly a century apart. Her favorite band is The Who; her favorite actor is Rudolph Valentino; her favorite comedians are Laurel and Hardy; and her favorite writer is Aleksandr Isayevich Solzhenitsyn. Her favorite holidays are Halloween and Yom Kippur.

She is the author of And Jakob Flew the Fiend Away, a Bildungsroman set from 1940–46; its sequel, And the Lark Arose from Sullen Earth, set from 1946–47; You Cannot Kill a Swan: The Love Story of Lyuba and Ivan, a sweeping saga set from 1917–24; The Twelfth Time: Lyuba and Ivan on the Rocks, its sequel, set from 1924–30; Journey Through a Dark Forest: Lyuba and Ivan in the Age of Anxiety, a four-volume saga spanning 1933–48; and And Aleksey Lived, an alternative historical saga about the greatest Tsar who never ruled. Under her other pen name, she is the author of Little Ragdoll: A Bildungsroman, a contemporary historical family saga set from 1959–74, and has had work published in the anthologies Campaigner Challenges 2011; Overcoming Adversity: An Anthology for Andrew; How I Found the Write Path; The Insecure Writer’s Support Group Guide to Publishing and Beyond; and The Cat Who Chose Us and Other Cat Stories.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews