Kitty's Countryside Dream: A feel good romantic comedy about life, love and family.

Kitty's Countryside Dream: A feel good romantic comedy about life, love and family.

by Christie Barlow

NOOK Book(eBook)

$2.99

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Overview

New home. New life. New beginning. Love affairs can blossom in the most unlikely places . . .

When Kitty inherits Bluebell Lodge from her grandmother, a farm in the beautiful Staffordshire countryside, it's time for fresh air and a fresh start. Up to her elbows in chickens and ponies, Kitty soon realises there's an awful lot to learn about farming. Still, at least the locals seem friendly, not least her handsome neighbour Tom…

But just as Kitty is beginning to find her feet, and the possibility of love, the discovery of a long-hidden diary, by a mysterious character called Violet changes everything. Who is Violet and what is her message for Kitty? As Kitty fills in the lost pieces of her family jigsaw and discovers some shocking revelations, will her countryside dream and blossoming relationship fall to pieces? When it comes to life in the country, nothing is ever quite as it seems …

A heart warming, moving and funny tale, perfect for fans of Trisha Ashley and Cathy Bramley.

Praise for Christie Barlow:
'Well-observed, highly-relatable and wickedly-funny.' Cathy Bramley

'A hilarious account, cleverly witty all the way through, a very entertaining read.' Kim the Book Worm

'An absolute delight to read …turned me into a complete Christie Barlow convert' Rachel's Random Reads

'The writing flowed beautifully and guided me from one situation to another seamlessly.' Angela Marsons

'Full of laughs and hilarious one-liners.' JB Johnston Book Tours

'Hilarious entertaining read.' Chicklit Chickadees Book Tour

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781910751640
Publisher: Bookouture
Publication date: 02/25/2016
Sold by: Hachette Digital, Inc.
Format: NOOK Book
Sales rank: 615,528
File size: 597 KB

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Kitty's Countryside Dream: A feel good romantic comedy about life, love and family. 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 3 reviews.
BuckeyeAngel More than 1 year ago
Two months before Kitty had been called to a lawyer’s office to find out she now owned Bluebell Lodge and a small apartment nearby Bluebell Lodge from her grandmother who she had been lead to believe had died before Kitty was born. So now Kitty is off to see what was now hers and make a new life for herself. Kitty at one time had a dream of becoming a doctor and care for her terminally ill mother. But instead she was her mother’s only caregiver and her mom had passed away five months before and at ten years old Kitty lost her dad in a car accident. All Kitty had before the news from the lawyers were her books and Kitty had been at loose ends but now she had a new start, Kitty found a cat in the apartment that was now hers also. The cat’s name was Alfie. There was a bicycle in the apartment and Kitty rode that to town to get some groceries and cat food. After Kitty returned home with the groceries and cat food, Kitty headed off to Bluebell Lodge.Kitty met Tom who was the manager of the farm after a fall then she fell again and Tom helped her up both times. Blue bell Lodge is the name of the farm and chickens are raised for show and eggs there. Kitty was relieved when Tom offered to stay on as her manager,Jeanie became a quick friend to Kitty. Kitty also makes friends with Lucinda who owns the bakery. Kitty found a diary in a safe at Bluebell Lodge dated from 1960 written by Violet. This answered questions she didn’t even know they had. I loved this story it was really good. The first part is light and sweet with Kitty with Kitty learning about the chicken farm and all that entailed. Then finding the diary changes the tone of the story and a lot of emotions are brought to the front of this part of the story. But Kitty does now have friends to back her. I will sat once the diary was found it was hard to but this story done as I wanted to see what would be said next. At times i choked up . The characters were great especially Kitty and I loved the twists and turns she went through. I highly recommend. I received an ARC of this story for an honest review.
DaneWeimMama More than 1 year ago
This was an adorable story about a young woman starting over & meeting cool new people along the way. Christie Barlow writes the characters with such detail that you feel that you know them. Very enjoyable read. ARC provided by the publisher via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.
Splashesintobooks1 More than 1 year ago
This was an amazing read - and what a beautiful cover, too1 Talk about giving the reader a feel good factor - this gets full marks. I feel like I’ve made friends with so many of the characters and have actually visited the farm! It is brilliantly and emotively written, taking the reader in to experience the highs and lows, the fears and hopes, dread and joy, the full gamut of emotions in this superbly crafted novel by an adept wordsmith. Kitty lost her father when she was ten years old and gave up her chance to go to university to look after her ailing mother until she, too, died. Just a few months later she learns she has inherited a farm from her grandmother, a grandmother she didn’t know had still been alive. As she moves to live in the village where it turns out her grandmother and mother had lived she has much to learn about how a chicken farm is run as well as about her own family history, secrets that have been kept throughout her life time and new relations and relationships to be formed. It is a roller coaster journey the author takes the reader on alongside the characters, sharing their humorous moments that have you laughing out loud and crying tears of happiness. It is a superb novel where historic events impact dramatically on contemporary living with them interwoven skilfully in a believable, heartwarming tale that I cannot recommend highly enough. Thanks to the author, publishers and NetGalley, too, for letting me read an ARC of this book in exchange for an honest review.