Knight Owl (Caldecott Honor Book)

Knight Owl (Caldecott Honor Book)

Knight Owl (Caldecott Honor Book)

Knight Owl (Caldecott Honor Book)

Hardcover

$17.99 
  • SHIP THIS ITEM
    Qualifies for Free Shipping
  • PICK UP IN STORE
    Check Availability at Nearby Stores

Related collections and offers


Overview

Notes From Your Bookseller

In his author-illustrator debut, Christopher Denise's clever wordplay and detailed illustrations for Knight Owl give it the feel of an instant classic. Since the day he hatched, Owl dreamed of becoming a real knight — but he'll have to be creative when facing the fearsome dragon. Owl's quest to become a formidable knight is perfect for fans of Dragonboy and Attack of the Underwear Dragon.

A NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER A CALDECOTT HONOR AWARD WINNER

A determined Owl builds strength and confidence in this medieval picture book about the real mettle of a hero: wits, humor, and heart. 

Since the day he hatched, Owl dreamed of becoming a real knight. He may not be the biggest or the strongest, but his sharp nocturnal instincts can help protect the castle, especially since many knights have recently gone missing. While holding guard during Knight Night Watch, Owl is faced with the ultimate trial—a frightening intruder. It’s a daunting duel by any measure. But what Owl lacks in size, he makes up for in good ideas.

Full of wordplay and optimism, this surprising display of bravery proves that cleverness (and friendship) can rule over brawn. 

NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY The Washington Post NPR Kirkus Reviews BookpageGood Housekeeping

★ "[A] story with an amusing twist and a cute-as-a-button protagonist that charms on every level. This will satisfy a wide range of readers, from Dragons Love Tacos fans to wannabe knights." —Booklist, starred review

"It’s dangerous to label any picture book a 'contemporary classic,' but Knight Owl tempts you to try.... Sweet and epic by turns."―NPR

"Adorably earnest and gallant…. A charming blend of whimsy and medieval heroism highlighting the triumph of brains over brawn."―Kirkus Reviews

"Through delicately conveyed firelight, deep shadows, and even an imagined tapestry, Christopher Denise provides this cracking tale with illustrations that feel like fully fleshed animated classics as Owl’s actions subvert a traditional conflict story line."―Publishers Weekly

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780316310628
Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Publication date: 03/15/2022
Series: The Knight Owl Series , #1
Pages: 48
Sales rank: 6,112
Product dimensions: 9.20(w) x 10.90(h) x 0.60(d)
Age Range: 4 - 8 Years

About the Author

Christopher Denise is the award-winning creator of Knight Owl, which was a New York Times bestseller; a Caldecott Honor Award winner; an ALA-ALSC Notable Book for Children; a Zena Sutherland Award winner for Excellence in Children’s Literature; was hailed as a "contemporary classic" by NPR; and was named one of the best books of the year by The Washington PostNPRKirkus ReviewsBookpage, and Good Housekeeping. Christopher is also the illustrator of many critically acclaimed books for young readers, including Groundhug Day and Firefly Hollow. He invites you to visit him online at christopherdenise.com.

From the B&N Reads Blog

Customer Reviews