L.A. Outlaws

L.A. Outlaws

by T. Jefferson Parker
3.6 29

NOOK Book(eBook)

$9.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
Want a NOOK ? Explore Now

Overview

L.A. Outlaws by T. Jefferson Parker

For fans of Michael Connelly and CJ Box, here is the first thrilling adventure in the Charlie Hood series from New York Times bestseller and Edgar-award winner T. Jefferson Parker, now featuring an excerpt from his upcoming novel The Room of White Fire.

In this town, it pays to be bad . . .

Allison is an L.A. celebrity, a folk hero, and a modern-day Jesse James who loves a good armed robbery. She has a compulsion to steal, a knack for publicity, and the conscience to give it all to charity. In fact, one of her biggest fans is a cop. And no one’s ever been hurt—until last night. Now she and the rookie deputy are on the run for their lives.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781101052495
Publisher: Penguin Publishing Group
Publication date: 02/03/2009
Series: Charlie Hood Novel , #1
Sold by: Penguin Group
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 448
Sales rank: 293,827
File size: 764 KB
Age Range: 18 Years

About the Author

T. Jefferson Parker is the author of numerous novels and short stories, the winner of three Edgar Awards, and the recipient of a Los Angeles Times Book Prize for mysteries. Before becoming a full-time novelist, he was an award-winning reporter. He lives in Fallbrook, California.


From the Paperback edition.

Hometown:

Fallbrook, California

Date of Birth:

December 26, 1953

Place of Birth:

Los Angeles, California

Education:

B.A. in English, University of California-Irvine, 1976

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

L.A. Outlaws (Charlie Hood Series #1) 3.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 29 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This was the first T. Jefferson Parker book I've read and even though it was not a 'great' book, I enjoyed it enough to read another. I got the impression it was written to eventually be made into a movie because the character development and storyline was a little thin at times. Still, it was a very enjoyable book and I have already recommended it to some friends. It would be fun to see a book where Jeff's characters cross paths with someone like Elvis Cole! I also enjoyed meeting the author recently and getting the book signed. He is a very friendly and interesting man.
Guest More than 1 year ago
T. Jefferson Parker continues to build a reputation as one of the top writers of suspense thrillers in the game. With L.A. Outlaws, he has delivered his most satisfying book yet. Allison Murrieta surely ranks as one of the most uniquely compelling characters to populate the world of crime fiction in years. Written in a smooth, highly readable style that combines vivid settings with a breakneck pace, this is one book sure to please Parker's many fans - and win him a lot of new ones.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Action, complexity, heart, and a fair seasoning of irony on top. It just doesn't get any better than T. Jefferson, and this is clearly up to his standard, excellent level of wiritng. The guy has the ability to write a tale which is engaging, often bizarre, and heart-touching, all at the same time. He also knows "Southern Cal," "L.A.," or whatever you want to call this weird place where I was born and where I live. The strange stuff Parker writer writes about doesn't happen here every day, but it happens often enough --- and painfully enough --- that there is never any doubt in this book --- or ANY of his books --- that he has the cultural geography nailed. This book is fine enough to be called "actual literature," but because of the genre and style, it probably never will be. Enjoy what the literary gurus will probably miss.
arkie23 More than 1 year ago
Was hoping for a more character friendly ending but was still a fun read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The main characters are still vivid to me three months after a friend gave me this book to read. I'm now delightedly making my way through all of Parker's novels.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I must admit that I really got my money's worth with this book (I purchased it at BN in the clearance books section). I enjoyed the characters, the plot, the twists and turns, too. This book kept me up a few nights because I couldn't put it down. This was my first time purchasing a book by T. Jefferson Parker, but it CERTAINLY will not be my last. Keep up the good work T. Jefferson!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Highly improbable. Too long. Some engaging characters but the bad guys way too bad, particularly the Mexican machete-wielding assassin.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago