Lake of Destiny

Lake of Destiny

by Martina Boone

Paperback

$12.99
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Tuesday, September 25  Order now and choose Expedited Shipping during checkout.

Overview

Lake of Destiny by Martina Boone

Helping her aunt organize a festival among the quiet lochs and braes of a Highland village in Scotland seems like the perfect escape from Anna Cameron's broken engagement and the mistake that ended her legal career. But to succeed in helping the struggling community, she'll need to wrangle kilt-wearing villagers, dangerous sheep, meandering dogs, generations of family secrets, and the secretive Highlander who refuses to open his property for the ancient tradition of "Sighting."

"Delightful, charming, and heartwarming!" NYT bestselling author Wendy Higgins

A captivating and uplifting new romance about women, family, history, food, men in kilts, a haunting Highlands legend, and the sometimes twisted path to love from the award-winning author of Compulsion.

For centuries, the small village of Balwhither has been known to locals as a "thin" place, one where the veil between worlds peels back on Beltane morning and reflects the face of a person's one true love in the tranquil waters of the loch. The tradition could draw much-needed tourism by the busload, but that's exactly what Connal MacGregor doesn't want when he's desperate to keep himself and his daughter out of the public eye.

Struggling to mediate between Connal and the needs of the village, Anna finds herself falling in love with all of them: Connal and his disfigured daughter, the villagers, and the magical glen. But opening the "Sighting" to strangers reveals rivalries the women in her family have kept locked away to brood to long, and old scars within Connal and Anna themselves. Confronting those wounds could finally set them both free to love with their whole hearts--or endanger their every chance of happiness.

An enchanting contemporary international romance filled with love and healing, perfect for fans of Nora Roberts' trilogies, Susanna Kearsley's suspenseful historical fiction, Diana Gabaldon's Outlander series, Sarah Addison Allen's magical women's fiction, and the heartwarming romances of Susan Wiggs, Susan Mallery, Lauren K. Denton, and Inglath Cooper.

THE CELTIC LEGENDS COLLECTION

The novels in the Celtic Legends collection are all heartwarming and uplifting stand-alone international romance novels. They can be read in any order, but characters from previous books are sometimes mentioned. While the settings are exotic, the books create a small town romance series atmosphere where characters know each other on deep levels, meddle in each other's business in the best--or worst--ways, and where the protagonists also deepen their relationships with friends, neighbors, and family as they fall in love. Food, sisters, parents, children, pets with distinct personalities, and the issues important to women all feature prominently.

Because many readers of Martina Boone's young adult fiction also read her adult novels, all her work can be classified in the realm of contemporary clean and wholesome romance. The focus is on the characters being attracted to each other emotionally and intellectually as well as physically.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781946773005
Publisher: Mayfair Publishing
Publication date: 04/24/2017
Pages: 338
Product dimensions: 6.00(w) x 1.25(h) x 9.00(d)

About the Author

Martina Boone is the award-winning author of the romantic Southern Gothic Heirs of Watson Island series for young adults, including Compulsion, Persuasion, and Illusion from Simon & Schuster, Simon Pulse, and heartwarming contemporary romances with a hint of magic for adult readers beginning with Lake of Destiny. She's also the founder of AdventuresInYAPublishing.com, a three-time Writer's Digest 101 Best Websites for Writers site and on the board of the Literary Council of Northern Virginia.

She lives with her husband, children, a Shetland Sheepdog, and a lopsided cat, and she enjoys writing romance set in the kinds of magical places she loves to visit. When she isn't writing, she's addicted to travel, horses, skiing, chocolate flavored tea, and anything with Nutella on it.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Lake of Destiny 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 4 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Endearingly alluring Highland, clean, romance. Modern day mixed with history, truth, folklore and just the right touch of the blarney! Loved how Connal and Anna saw and faced their fears, allowing Moira to be confident. Would love to revisit these characters again, especially Brando, JoAnne and Margaret.
sincerelykarenjo More than 1 year ago
I absolutely adore the characters and could picture myself being friends with most of them. I like Anne a lot and thought she was such a great heroine. She’s a bit of a mess, (who isn’t though –I think we’re a mess sometimes), but she’s also very smart, passionate, and determined. Her character is so real and likable you just feel for her.  Connal -- LOVE HIM!!! He’s ridiculously handsome, charming, a bit mysterious and very talented. He’s also a great father who does everything he can to protect his only daughter, Moira. (Awwwwww…right?!? ) Seriously, how can you not fall for him? Then there’s Brando – another hottie in kilts who swooned his way into my heart. He’s sweet, funny, and just as charming as Connal. (He’s going to get his own story in Bell of Eternity – squeal!!!) Anne’s aunt, Elspeth, really love her. She’s such a great mother figure not only to Anne (Love their relationship/bond), but also to most of the people in the village. I just wanted to hug her and sit in her kitchen forever eating her delicious desserts. I’d really love to talk about every single character, but then I’ll be spoiling everything for you and I definitely don’t want to do that. Just know that the side characters are pretty darn awesome – yes… even the ones that get on your nerves. Their interactions and personalities definitely added that extra oomph that make the story more interesting and entertaining. Seriously, this book has one of the best group of characters I’ve ever had the pleasure of knowing. They’re quirky, boisterous, ridiculous at times, and just SO. MUCH. FUN. Read my full review here: sincerelykarenjo.wordpress.com
Dhammelef More than 1 year ago
Heartwarming romance that will leave you swooning! I loved the characters, loved the setting, loved seeing how these characters dealt with the issues from past relationships as well as faced their fears. This is clean romance, my new favorite adult genre, thanks to Martina.
ksnapier475 More than 1 year ago
Lake of Destiny: A Celtic Legends Romance by [Boone, Martina]Anna Cameron has set off to help her aunt with the Beltane Festival in Scotland. Having a broken engagement and losing her job, this seems like the perfect way to escape. Once there she finds that her aunt has stretched the truth about the size and finances behind this festival, so Anna has her work cut out for her. Plus this festival is always extra special because on Beltane morning, this place reveals the face of one's true love. This is called the "Sighting". This sweet story takes place in Scotland, so, in my view, it was going to be a success from the beginning. Add to it a love story filled with the sounds and descriptions of the setting and it made me wish I was there viewing it myself. However, with her writing, Martina Boone allowed me to travel there in my mind. I found myself getting lost in the words and not wanting to return home when I was done. I love it when a book does this so I would say this book is a big success. I was given this book by the author in exchange for my honest review.