Lectures on Shakespearean Tragedy

Lectures on Shakespearean Tragedy

by A.C. Bradley

NOOK Book(eBook)

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
Want a NOOK ? Explore Now


Lectures on Shakespearean Tragedy by A.C. Bradley

Shakespearean Tragedies includes lectures on the following four William Shakespeare plays: HAMLET, OTHELLO, KING LEAR, and MACBETH.

In these lectures I propose to consider the four principal tragedies of Shakespeare from a single point of view. Our one object will be what, again in a restricted sense, may be called dramatic appreciation; to increase our understanding and enjoyment of these works as dramas; to learn to apprehend the action and some of the personages of each with a somewhat greater truth and intensity, so that they may assume in our imaginations a shape a little less unlike the shape they wore in the imagination of their creator.

These lectures are based on a selection from materials used in teaching at Liverpool, Glasgow, and Oxford; and I have for the most part preserved the lecture form.

Product Details

BN ID: 2940015255119
Publisher: Balefire Publishing
Publication date: 08/27/2012
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
File size: 579 KB

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews