Left Out

Left Out

by Tim Green

Paperback(Reprint)

$6.29 $6.99 Save 10% Current price is $6.29, Original price is $6.99. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Wednesday, October 24?   Order by 12:00 PM Eastern and choose Expedited Shipping at checkout.
    Same Day shipping in Manhattan. 
    See Details

Overview

Left Out by Tim Green

Perfect for fans of Mike Lupica! New York Times bestselling author and former NFL player Tim Green delivers a heartwarming and inspiring story about a deaf boy’s journey to change how others see him—both on and off the football field. Now in paperback. 

Landon Dorch wants to be like everyone else. But his deafness and the way he talks have always felt like insurmountable obstacles. But now he finally sees his chance to fit in. Bigger and taller than any other seventh grader in his new school, Landon plans to use his size to his advantage and join the school’s football team. But the same speech problems and the cochlear implants that help him hear continue to haunt him.

Just when it looks like Landon will be left out of football for good, an unlikely friend comes along. But in the end only Landon can fight his way off the bench and through a crowded field of bullies bent on seeing him forever left out.

 

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780062293831
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date: 09/05/2017
Edition description: Reprint
Pages: 368
Sales rank: 90,633
Product dimensions: 5.10(w) x 7.60(h) x 0.90(d)
Age Range: 8 - 12 Years

About the Author

Tim Green, for many years a star defensive end with the Atlanta Falcons, is a man of many talents. He's the author of such gripping books for adults as the New York Times bestselling The Dark Side of the Game and American Outrage. Tim graduated covaledictorian from Syracuse University and was a first-round draft pick. He later earned his law degree with honors, and he has also worked as an NFL commentator for FOX Sports and NPR.

His first book for young readers, Football Genius, inspired in part by his players and his own kids, became a New York Times bestseller and was followed by Football Hero, Football Champ, The Big Time, and Deep Zone. He drew on his experiences playing and coaching Little League for Rivals and Pinch Hit and two more New York Times bestsellers: Baseball Great and Best of the Best.

Bestselling author Jon Scieszka called Tim Green's Unstoppable, a book about a boy's struggle with cancer that debuted at #2 on the New York Times bestseller list, "Absolutely heroic. And something every guy should read."

Tim Green lives with his wife, Illyssa, and their five children in upstate New York.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Left Out 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 2 reviews.
Jordan_____Johnson More than 1 year ago
The book left out is a great read for anyone that is interested in football or any sports because all the problems in this story can relate to any sport. Landon the main character of the story is deaf but has devices in the shapes of disc mounted on his skull so he is able to hear. Landon is also big for his age and he is a lover of football and has wanted to play since he was little. His father is a writer but he never published any of his writes and his mother is a caring human being and works for a food company. His sister Genevieve which is very mean and feisty is very close to Landon and she will confront anyone that talks bad about Landon and usually causes a scene.Both of his parents and Genevieve support Landon through everything he does. His family moves to New York, Landon is glad because he would be able to join the football team. On the other hand Landon's mother is not wanting him to be on the football because she is scared he will get hurt made fun of. Landon's doctor gives him permission to play but there is more problems than this there is the bullying on the football team that he has to go through and the principle which does not help Landon with his bullying problem. I think this story was great and I liked how everything turned out good in the end.
Amy Hall More than 1 year ago
Left Out is an amazing book I believe every middle school student should read. Tim Green weaves together a realistic teenage world with a world of sports. Left Out follows Landon and his family as they move to a new town, a new school, and a new social situation. Landon is deaf and wears cochlear implants to hear and make sense of the world around him. Landon has faced bullying and judgment his whole life and it's no different in his new school and town. Luckily Landon has a fierce younger sister and loyal friends who believe in him and help him find his place in a new school and community. Tim Green's writing captures the essence of what it means to be a teenager. At times, the events in this book took my breath away--I couldn't believe the injustice and unfairness of life. At other times I cheered because things finally worked out for characters I loved. The plot in this book is great, but I LOVED the characters. A fiercely-loving mother, a caring father, a shin-kicking sister, and a loyal friend are among the cast of characters who help Landon. These characters connected with me and made me see my life reflected in this book. Teacher Tip: Download the free teacher guide on Tim Green's website.