Living the Reiki Way: Reiki Principles for Everyday Living

Living the Reiki Way: Reiki Principles for Everyday Living

by Penelope Quest


View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, April 8


Winner of the 2014 Nautilus Award represents “Better Books for a Better World”—the Silver Award in the category of Body-Centered Practices and Movement Therapies.

Practicing Reiki is not simply about healing others—it is also about healing yourself and growing spiritually. In Living the Reiki Way, Penelope Quest offers practical and spiritual guidance on how you can absorb Reiki principles into your everyday life. Adapted from Dr. Mikao Usui's original Reiki healing system, Penelope offers six key principles for us to live by:

—Live "in the now"
—Live without anger
—Live without worry
—Live with gratitude
—Live with kindness
—Work honestly and diligently

In Living the Reiki Way, she guides us through the meanings and implications of each principle—and explains how they can help us achieve long-term happiness and contentment.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780399162213
Publisher: Penguin Publishing Group
Publication date: 07/11/2013
Pages: 288
Sales rank: 362,172
Product dimensions: 5.90(w) x 8.90(h) x 0.80(d)
Age Range: 18 Years

About the Author

Penelope Quest is a highly respected Reiki author and trainer. She has been teaching Reiki since 1994 and has been a consultant on Reiki to both the Open University and the NHS. She was on the Education and Accreditation Committee of the Reiki Regulatory Working Group responsible for producing an acceptable Core Curriculum for Reiki Practitioner training. Her previous books include Reiki for Life, The Reiki Manual, Self-Healing with Reiki, and The Basics of Reiki.

Table of Contents

Acknowledgments ix

Introduction xi

Part 1 Reiki Basics

1 What Is Reiki? 3

2 The Origins of the Reiki Principles 12

Part 2 Living in the "Now"

3 Just for Today 25

4 Mindfulness and Meditation 30

Part 3 Living Without Anger

5 Understanding Emotions 57

6 Dealing with Anger 83

Part 4 Living Without Worry

7 Understanding Thoughts and the Power of Words 117

8 Dealing with Fear and Worry 136

Part 5 Living with Gratitude

9 Developing an Attitude of Gratitude 157

10 Cosmic Ordering and the Universal Law of Attraction 171

Part 6 Living with Kindness

11 Kindness Begins with Yourself 195

12 Kindness and Karma 205

Part 7 Living, Working and Learning

13 Working Honestly and Diligently 217

14 Self-awareness, Personal Growth and Spiritual Development 228

Part 8 Living with the Reiki Principles Today

15 Living the Reiki Way as a Daily Practice 243

Resources 251

Further Reading 255

Index 261

Customer Reviews