Pub. Date:
Love Letters & Gingerbread: An Annapolis Christmas

Love Letters & Gingerbread: An Annapolis Christmas

by Mary K Tilghman

NOOK Book(eBook)

View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now


Love Letters & Gingerbread, a novella set in 1831 Annapolis, relates the Jane Austen-inspired stories of Angela and Patricia, as the sisters ponder the question: What is love?

For Patsy, it is her passion for faithless Vincent, her suitor out of town for the winter. While she pines for him, her new neighbor William showers her with kindnesses as he falls in love with her. With the approach of Christmas and her first Winter Ball, she finds her heart rent in two over these two men.

Angela, the family’s caretaker since their father’s sudden death, discovers unexpected emotion rising in her heart upon meeting Gordon, a student at William and Mary. She tries to remain distant, knowing her mother needs her help—and after learning of a southern belle’s plans to marry him.

As they sort out their feelings, neither young woman will ever forget the Christmas of 1831.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781733879224
Publisher: Mary K. Tilghman
Publication date: 07/12/2019
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 134
Sales rank: 784,134
File size: 158 KB

About the Author

Mary K. Tilghman, a Maryland native, has written for Eastern Shore and Baltimore and Eastern Shore newspapers and magazines for 40 years. In addition, she wrote six editions of Frommer's travel guide for Maryland and Delaware and one edition of the Insider's Guide to Baltimore. Her first novel Divided Loyalties was published in 2017 with a second edition published in 2019. Set in Sharpsburg, during the Civil War, it follows an Irish immigrant as she sacrifices family, friends and comfort to serve as a nurse in an Antietam battlefield tent hospital. The novel was cited in CBSBaltimore's "Five Baltimore Authors To Put On Your Summer Reading List" in 2017. It also received Four Roses in a Romance Novel Addicts Anonymous review. She is a member of the Romance Writers of America, Maryland Romance Writers and the Historical Novel Society. She is currently working on a novel set in 1895 Ocean City. Mary and her husband Ray Truitt have three grown children.

Table of Contents

CHAPTER 1—Letters

CHAPTER 2—Not guests, visitors

CHAPTER 3—Dearest Vincent

CHAPTER 4—Gordon

CHAPTER 5—William

CHAPTER 6—An afternoon visitor

CHAPTER 7—Gordon and Angela

CHAPTER 8—Only dinner

CHAPTER 9—The value of letters

CHAPTER 10—Gingerbread

CHAPTER 11—Kitty's plan

CHAPTER 12—Patsy's first ball

CHAPTER 13—Shall we dance?

CHAPTER 14—Too quiet

CHAPTER 15—Her fate is sealed

CHAPTER 16—Christmas Eve

CHAPTER 17—Christmas Day

Customer Reviews