Hardcover

$14.99 
  • SHIP THIS ITEM
    Qualifies for Free Shipping
    Available for Pre-Order. This item will be available on March 5, 2024
  • PICK UP IN STORE

    Store Pickup available after publication date.

Related collections and offers


Overview

Perfect for fans of Dork Diaries and Emmie & Friends, this first book in a diary-style illustrated middle grade series follows an anxious, science-minded sixth grader determined to become fun and win back her friend.

Sixth grade has been pretty disaster-free for aspiring astronaut Maple McNutt—which is impressive, given the number of worries and possible catastrophes that run through her head every day. (So far, Earth hasn’t been devoured by a black hole and a cockroach hasn’t crawled out of her toothpaste mid-squeeze. Phew!) But then her best friend of seven-point-two years, Sunny Gwon, accuses her of being unfun and starts hanging around with a new group of friends.

In order to win Sunny back, Maple decides to undergo a serious scientific transformation to become fun by 1. Doing extensive research, 2. Applying research to self, and and 3. Repeating until fun. It’s risky and groundbreaking research, but Maple has no choice if she wants to save her friendship.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781665941037
Publisher: Aladdin
Publication date: 03/05/2024
Series: Maple
Pages: 320
Sales rank: 315,572
Product dimensions: 5.50(w) x 8.10(h) x 2.00(d)
Age Range: 8 - 12 Years

About the Author

Kate McMillan grew up in Houston, Texas, illustrating and writing stories in the world’s tiniest font. She studied architecture at Yale and boatbuilding in Norway before making her way to Los Angeles to start a career as a concept artist in animation. She has worked for studios including DreamWorks and Disney TV, where she gets to make up worlds every day. In her free time, she enjoys building furniture, scouring the sidewalks of LA for scraps to build said furniture, and drawing wobbly buildings that look like they might fall down.

Ruthie Prillaman is a writer and musician from Potomac, Maryland. After a childhood full of reading books and playing in extremely niche rock bands, Ruthie studied English at Yale and received her MFA in screenwriting from University of Southern California. Since completing her studies, her creative career has spanned theater, documentary, classical music, opera, and film. She currently lives in Los Angeles where she writes for television. Outside of work, she enjoys sewing new clothes, writing music with her brother, and cooking Hungarian goulash in her traditional goulash pot.

Kate McMillan grew up in Houston, Texas, illustrating and writing stories in the world’s tiniest font. She studied architecture at Yale and boatbuilding in Norway before making her way to Los Angeles to start a career as a concept artist in animation. She has worked for studios including DreamWorks and Disney TV, where she gets to make up worlds every day. In her free time, she enjoys building furniture, scouring the sidewalks of LA for scraps to build said furniture, and drawing wobbly buildings that look like they might fall down.

Ruthie Prillaman is a writer and musician from Potomac, Maryland. After a childhood full of reading books and playing in extremely niche rock bands, Ruthie studied English at Yale and received her MFA in screenwriting from University of Southern California. Since completing her studies, her creative career has spanned theater, documentary, classical music, opera, and film. She currently lives in Los Angeles where she writes for television. Outside of work, she enjoys sewing new clothes, writing music with her brother, and cooking Hungarian goulash in her traditional goulash pot.
From the B&N Reads Blog

Customer Reviews