Mary Rose

Mary Rose

by Geoffrey Girard

Paperback

$6.49 $12.99 Save 50% Current price is $6.49, Original price is $12.99. You Save 50%.
View All Available Formats & Editions

This item is currently not eligible for coupon offers.

Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Friday, September 28  Order now and choose Expedited Shipping during checkout.
    Same Day shipping in Manhattan. 
    See Details

Overview

Mary Rose by Geoffrey Girard

Mary Rose Moreland and Simon Blake are the perfect couple: successful young professionals in Philadelphia, attractive, madly in love, and ready to start a life together. When they travel to England for Simon to ask her parents’ permission to marry Mary Rose, he learns an unsettling secret: Mary Rose disappeared when she was a little girl while the family was vacationing on a remote Scottish island. She reappeared mysteriously thirty-three days later in the exact same spot without a scratch on her and no memory of what had happened.

After Simon hears about this disturbing episode in Mary Rose’s childhood, he becomes obsessed with finding out what happened. He proceeds to launch his own investigation and arranges during their honeymoon for them to visit the island where she disappeared. But as Mary Rose’s behavior gets stranger after their engagement, the need for Simon to unlock the truth about her past grows even more urgent. What he uncovers is beyond his most terrifying fears.

Mary Rose is author Geoffrey Girard’s chilling and modern take on a classic ghost story originally written by J. M. Barrie. And for years, master of suspense Alfred Hitchcock attempted to adapt Mary Rose into a film but was never successful. With this novel, Girard taps into the nightmarish fears that inspired both Barrie and Hitchcock, while also bringing the story to the present day with his own unique voice.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781945293368
Publisher: Adaptive Studios
Publication date: 10/17/2017
Sales rank: 242
Product dimensions: 5.40(w) x 8.20(h) x 0.90(d)

About the Author

Geoffrey Girard writes thrillers and dark speculative fiction. Born in Germany and shaped in New Jersey, Geoffrey earned a BA in English Literature from Washington College and an MA in creative writing from Miami University. He has presented and led workshops on creative writing at schools, bookstores and various writers’ conventions/events.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Mary Rose 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 2 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This one would not leave me alone until I took the time to finish it. Glad I did make the time.
Dana_W More than 1 year ago
If you love old style horror movies or novels you have to read this book. When a six year old Mary Rose goes missing during an island jaunt with her father, all hell breaks loose. Was she abducted or was there something more sinister and otherworldly at work? The answers aren't any more clear when she reappears more than a month later seemingly in perfect health, remembering nothing of her ordeal. Fast forward to the present. She and Simon, her betrothed, travel to England to meet the parents. But what they find only leads him deeper down the rabbit hole that comprises the past of the woman he wants to marry. This book is a page turner. From the first spooky encounter on an island that seems to be a character all its own, to the race against time to solve the mystery of what happened to Mary Rose, Simon is a man on a mission to save his bride from the past and a future that looks increasingly fraught with danger. I loved this book and can't wait to read more from this talented author. Fans of Rosemary's Baby, The Legend of Hell House, The Haunting of Hill House and other old style horror films and stories will fall in love with this tale, that was nearly made into a movie by none other than Hitchcock himself. Kudos to Mr. Girard for bringing this story to life.