Minute by Minute

Minute by Minute

by The Doobie BrothersThe Doobie Brothers




With Tom Johnston gone from the lineup because of health problems, this is where the "new" Doobie Brothers really make their debut, with a richly soulful sound throughout and emphasis on horns and Michael McDonald's piano more than on Patrick Simmons' or Jeff Baxter's guitars. Not that they were absent entirely, or weren't sometimes right up front in the mix, as the rocking, slashing "Don't Stop to Watch the Wheels" and the bluegrass-influenced "Steamer Lane Breakdown" demonstrate. But given the keyboards, the funky rhythms, and McDonald's soaring tenor (showcased best on "What a Fool Believes"), it's almost difficult to believe that this is the hippie bar band that came out of California in 1970. There's less virtuosity here than on the group's first half-dozen albums, but overall a more commercial sound steeped in white funk. It's still all pretty compelling even if its appeal couldn't be more different from the group's earlier work (i.e., The Captain and Me, etc.). The public loved it, buying something like three million copies, and the recording establishment gave Minute by Minute four Grammy Awards, propelling the group to its biggest success ever.

Product Details

Release Date: 10/25/1990
Label: Warner Records
UPC: 0075992735421
catalogNumber: 3193

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Doobie Brothers   Primary Artist
Michael McDonald   Synthesizer,Keyboards,Vocals,Vocal Harmony,Group Member
Norton Buffalo   Harmonica
Tom Johnston   Guitar,Vocals
Nicolette Larson   Vocals
Patrick Simmons   Guitar,Vocals,Group Member
Lester Abrams   Keyboards,Electric Piano,Vocals
Jeff Baxter   Guitar,Steel Guitar,Group Member
Byron Berline   Fiddle,Violin
Rosemary Butler   Vocals
Ben Cauley   Trumpet
Keith Knudsen   Drums,Vocals,Group Member
Bobby LaKind   Conductor,Conga,Vocals
Andrew Love   Horn,Saxophone
Sumner Mering   Synthesizer,Guitar,Soloist
Bill Payne   Synthesizer,Keyboards
Herb Pedersen   Banjo
Tiran Porter   Bass,Vocals,Group Member
Ted Templeman   Percussion
John Hartman   Drums,Group Member

Technical Credits

Kenny Loggins   Composer
Michael McDonald   Arranger,Composer
Carole Bayer Sager   Composer
Patrick Simmons   Composer
Lester Abrams   Composer
Jeff Baxter   Composer
Rev. Patrick Henderson   Composer
Donn Landee   Engineer
Bruce Steinberg   Cover Design
Ted Templeman   Composer,Producer
Loyd Clifft   Engineer
Steve Malcolm   Engineer
Michael Ebert   Composer

Customer Reviews