Miss Katie's Rosewood (Carolina Cousins Book #4): A Novel

Miss Katie's Rosewood (Carolina Cousins Book #4): A Novel

by Michael Phillips

NOOK Book(eBook)

$6.49 $6.99 Save 7% Current price is $6.49, Original price is $6.99. You Save 7%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
Want a NOOK ? Explore Now


Miss Katie's Rosewood (Carolina Cousins Book #4): A Novel by Michael Phillips

The Stirring Conclusion to the Carolina Cousins Series!

A lone rider galloped through the night.
He could not slow down or it would be too late.
Many lives, and his own future,
depended on his getting there in time....

Winds of change are blowing over the Carolina cotton fields . . . changes that will rock the lives of all those who live at the Rosewood Plantation. Katie and Mayme are young women now. Jeremiah has left to seek work in the city. Can change be far behind for the rest of the Rosewood family?

Trouble lives not only in the South . . . danger lurks everywhere. When Katie and Mayme travel north by train to Philadelphia, only one of them is still on board when the train reaches its destination. . . .

Meanwhile, the KKK plans to burn Rosewood to the ground, forcing the family to face a terrible decision. Save Rosewood--or themselves?

Will the Rosewood family survive this threat to their beloved home? Or will they be forced to say a final goodbye to . . .

Miss Katie's Rosewood

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781441211330
Publisher: Baker Publishing Group
Publication date: 07/01/2007
Series: Carolina Cousins , #4
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 352
Sales rank: 254,798
File size: 5 MB

About the Author

MICHAEL PHILLIPS, one of the premier Christian novelists of this generation, has more than four dozen novels to his credit. His passion and vision are responsible for introducing Victorian novelist George MacDonald to new readers around the world. Michael and his wife, Judy, alternate their time between Scotland and their home in Eureka, California.
Michael Phillips is a bestselling author who has penned more than seventy books, both fiction and nonfiction. In addition, he has served as editor/redactor of nearly thirty more books. Over the past thirty years, his persistent efforts have helped reawaken interest in the writings of nineteenth century Scotsman George MacDonald. Michael and his wife, Judy, spend time each year in Scotland, but make their home near Sacramento, California. Visit Michael's website at www.fatheroftheinklings.com.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Miss Katie's Rosewood 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 13 reviews.
harstan More than 1 year ago
Katie and Mayme leave their beloved Rosewood plantation in the Carolinas to travel by train to Philadelphia, but the latter is required to ride in the last car, the ¿Coloreds Only¿ coach. Upon reaching the city, a stunned Katie finds herself alone as the ¿Coloreds Only¿ car is missing. She fears her free friend may have been sold along with the other Negro passengers into slavery perhaps in the Caribbean. Deputy Rob Paxton offers to help find and if necessary rescue Mayme. He and Katie investigate. At the same time back in the Carolinas the KKK plans to burn Rosewood to the ground as a warning for anyone else who upgrades slaves as equals to white folks. One lonely rider hopes to save the families residing there. However he has no idea how the mostly former slaves will react between fight and flight for the plantation is life to all of them and will continue to be so if he makes it on time. This terrific Reconstruction Era Carolina Cousins thriller is a superb conclusion to one of the best nineteenth century Americana series on the market today. The story line is fast-paced and the key characters fully developed. However, it is the time period that so vividly comes alive as different forces vie for their vision of society in the aftermath of the destructive Civil War turning the ¿peace¿ into further hostility. MISS KATIE¿S ROSEWOOD is an incredible historical that can be read alone but enhanced with the previous winning tales (see A PERILOUS PROPOSAL, THE SOLDIER'S LADY, and NEVER TOO LATE). Harriet Klausner
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book like all the others is so exciting and full of hope. It gave you a message from god without pushing you into anything. It shares their lives with you and lets you see that the different races of the world can be friends. It tells of the old south and how wrong they were to treat the slaves as they did and the whites who tried to help them. It lets you form your own oppinions and it gets you closer to the lord.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved reading about the lives of Katie and Mayme. This last addition to the story was a saddening one. Learning about their leaving Rosewood for good was upsetting, I felt as though my "family" was breaking up. This book does have a happy ending letting you know about how all the characters lives play out til their old and ultimately death. I will be starting the Quaker series today. I look forward to sitting in front of my fireplace with a hot cup of cocoa and reading about the Davidson family.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
daffydillms More than 1 year ago
loved the series, wanted to keep reading more
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
All four of the books in this series are about 250 pages. All are well written and edited with likable characters. A new character is introduced, a young man, living on the plantation, at the first of the book. I have no idea where he came from. These books are Bethany House, which means Christian fiction. The other three books had a perfect balance of religion and story. The first 100 pages of this book was nothing but preaching. Extreme preaching at that. It cost $5.99 and had very little story. But it did pull some loose ends together and the conclusion of the book and the series was satisfactory. An Aunt is introduced into the mix and she was not in the other books, nor do I remember an aunt being mentioned. I liked the first three books much better. I gave them 4 1/2 stars each. For readers ages 14 and up, more chick lit them mixed sex readers, no sex ,cursing or extreme violence. A D