Model Misfit (Geek Girl Series #2)

Model Misfit (Geek Girl Series #2)

by Holly Smale

Paperback(Reprint)

$9.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Wednesday, October 24  Order now and choose Expedited Shipping during checkout.
    Same Day shipping in Manhattan. 
    See Details

Overview

Model Misfit (Geek Girl Series #2) by Holly Smale

You can make a geek a model, but you can't make her chic. More hilarity and high fashion await in the second book in the internationally bestselling Geek Girl series!

Harriet Manners is a model—but she feels even less popular and more awkward than she did when she was just a geek. So a summer modeling job in Japan sounds like the perfect vacation, even if she has to bring along her crazy grandma Bunty, and even if she might run into Nick, her gorgeous supermodel ex-boyfriend. No one is going to ruin Harriet's fabulous Tokyo adventure—unless she accidentally ruins it herself. . . .

This sequel to Holly Smale's #1 bestselling debut novel, Geek Girl, is perfect for fans of Mag Cabot's Princess Diaries series and Louise Rennison's Georgia Nicolson series.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780062333612
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date: 01/26/2016
Series: Geek Girl Series , #2
Edition description: Reprint
Pages: 416
Sales rank: 415,263
Product dimensions: 5.31(w) x 8.00(h) x 0.94(d)
Age Range: 13 - 17 Years

About the Author

Holly Smale was unexpectedly spotted by a top London modeling agency at the age of fifteen and spent the following two years falling over on catwalks, going bright red, and breaking things she couldn't afford to replace. By the time she had graduated from Bristol University with a BA in English Literature and an MA in Shakespeare, she had given up modeling and set herself on the path to becoming a full-time writer. Geek Girl was the #1 bestselling young adult fiction title in the UK in 2013. It was shortlisted for several major awards, including the Roald Dahl Funny Prize. Holly currently lives in London, England.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Model Misfit (Geek Girl, Book 2) 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
Lisa-LostInLiterature More than 1 year ago
My adoration for Harriet Manners continues in this hilariously-funtastic series! I first fell in love with Harriet in Geek Girl , where her willingness to let her geekiness shine immediately won me over. I loved her style, her attitude with regard to her personality, and how she was unwilling to give in to the "norm" of peer pressure. Her wonderful owning of her inner nerdiness remains, and Harriet shines in this second installment to this incredible series. Harriet is now a model. This fact does not, however, make her feel any less awkward and unable to fit in at school. She feels like she's even more of a laughing stock now that she's returned to her normal daily life. When the opportunity to model in Japan arises, she jumps at the chance to leave her mundane life and travel to Japan. The fantastic group of characters we met in Geek Girl is back and filled to the brim with hilarious banter! I can't get enough of Holly Smale's writing and humor. Every few pages I'm laughing hilarious. I'm sure it makes it even more enjoyable because I'm listening to the audiobook, and let me tell you, Katey Sobey is FANTASTIC!! (More about that below in Audiobook Impressions. ;) ) My favorite character is still Wilbur. The nicknames he has for Harriet are just plain hilarious! Nat, Harriet's best friend, who I enjoyed quite a bit in Geek Girl, isn't as present in this story as she traveled to France during most of the book. But I love seeing the little mentions of their friendship holding up despite the distance. Annnnd Harriet's crush, Nick, who recently moved on to a different model girlfriend, may show up for a bit as well. ;) As in Geek Girl, I LOVE all of Harriet's facts! Most were completely random and meaningless... but man, I learned A LOT from that geeky girl! Bring on the info, Harriet! Say it proudly, girl! As is normal Harriet style, this trip to Japan was no different when it came to her disastrous tendencies. She ruined photo shoots, angered quite a few people, and, of course, destroyed a dress or two. Leave it to Harriet to be a bumbling mess and keep us cracking up! I can see why so many people were mad at her in this story... yet I couldn't stop smiling long enough to feel any resentment toward her at all. Too much love in my heart to be upset by anything this firecracker can do. LOL This story did carry with it a heavier topic as well. Harriet longed to fit in and find somewhere that felt like "home" to her. Whether it be her current house with her father and pregnant stepmother, or Japan, she was longing for that feeling of belonging somewhere. With her new sibling on the way, her insecurities took over. She worried her father and stepmother had their own new family forming that did not include her. Her friends seemed to be gone, since Nat was traveling to France, and Harriet was left feeling lost and alone. She hoped this trip to Japan was what she needed to finally find herself... and to find "home." “I suddenly realize that it doesn't matter how far I go, or how lost I am, or how lonely I feel. I fit in here. I always will. That's how I know I'm home.” I can't recommend this series enough! If you're looking for a lighthearted, insanely funny and entertaining story, READ THIS SERIES! This group of characters is exceptional. One of my very favorite group of characters in any story. They're all so different, each personality so unique, each dialect so incredibly distinguishable. I love the amount of effort Holly Smale must