Modern Classics Lark Rise To Candleford A Trilogy

Modern Classics Lark Rise To Candleford A Trilogy


$18.90 $21.00 Save 10% Current price is $18.9, Original price is $21. You Save 10%.
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Wednesday, October 24  Order now and choose Expedited Shipping during checkout.


Modern Classics Lark Rise To Candleford A Trilogy by Flora Thompson

Flora Thompson's immortal trilogy, containing "Lark Rise", "Over To Candleford" and "Candleford Green", is a heartwarming portrayal of country life at the close of the 19th century. This story of three closely related Oxfordshire communities - a hamlet, the nearby village and a small market town - is based on the author's experiences during childhood and youth. It chronicles May Day celebrations and forgotten children's games, the daily lives of farmworkers and craftsmen, friends and relations - all painted with a gaiety and freshness of observation that make this trilogy an evocative and sensitive memorial to Victorian rural England. With a new introduction by Richard Mabey

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780141183312
Publisher: Penguin UK
Publication date: 12/23/2008
Pages: 544
Sales rank: 229,206
Product dimensions: 5.06(w) x 7.74(h) x 1.00(d)

About the Author

Flora Thompson (5 December 1876 – 21 May 1947) was an English novelist and poet famous for her semi-autobiographical trilogy about the English countryside, Lark Rise to Candleford.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews