Moxy Maxwell Does Not Love Stuart Little

Moxy Maxwell Does Not Love Stuart Little

Paperback(Reprint)

$6.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, March 27

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780440422303
Publisher: Random House Children's Books
Publication date: 04/22/2008
Series: Moxy Maxwell Series , #1
Edition description: Reprint
Pages: 112
Sales rank: 882,070
Product dimensions: 5.19(w) x 7.63(h) x 0.28(d)
Age Range: 7 - 10 Years

About the Author

Peggy Gifford's original plan was to become a famous (but really nice) actress. But after touring Ohio as Winnie-the-Pooh, she decided to become a writer instead. She holds an MFA from the Iowa Writer's Workshop, and her work has appeared in the Iowa Review, the Antioch Review, and women's magazines like Redbook. This is her first novel for children. She lives in New York, New York and Myrtle Beach, South Carolina.

 

Valorie Fisher is the author-illustrator of How High Can a Dinosaur Count?, which recevied two starred reviews, among other titles. Her first two picture books, My Big Brother and My Big Sister—both Oppenheim Toy Portfolio Platinum Award winners—were, like Moxy Maxwell, illustrated with photographs. She lives in Cornwall, Connecticut.




Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Moxy Maxwell Does Not Love Stuart Little 3.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 13 reviews.
Victoria-Star More than 1 year ago
Moxy Maxwell loves to read, dont get her wrong. She'll stay up to midnight reading her favorite books. But what is it about a cute little white mouse that makes her put off reading it all summer long? Maybe it's just becuase she's too distracted, and every time she starts reading, something else happens to demand her time... An eye catching cover and title are only the starts of this fabulous book. By a first time author, it's charming, witty, and just all around cozy and lovable. Moxy is a quirky character, and the black and white pictures that illustrate...are breathtakingly amazing! Their rawness and old fashioned-ness (is that a word? Well, we'll make it one for the sake of this book) made me squeal. I loved them. Content here- you couldn't ask for less. Not one trace of sex, violence, language, or anything else to speak of. The story was short, but it didn't take away from the story. I loved it. Love, love, love. Can't wait to read the sequels and see how they measure up. I love Moxy! Read this and see if you do too :) **Thanks for reading! Please mark this review as helpful and check out my other reviews! God bless!**
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It os not at all the best book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Im gonna read it!!!!!!!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Moxy does not want to read Stuart Little. So much so that she has tried to destroy her copy of the book. Her brother takes pictures that really enhance the plot, and it's altogether laugh out loud. Great summer read.
anniecase on LibraryThing 10 months ago
This is a delight! The misadventures and skewed logic of Moxy Maxwell put her in the same category with Ramona and Clementine. The photographs, too, provide an excellent touch.
abbylibrarian on LibraryThing 10 months ago
It's the day before the start of fourth grade and Moxy Maxwell has been putting off reading her assigned book, Stuart Little. She's got one day to do it... but other things keep coming up that are much more interesting. Find out the lengths this young lady will go to to avoid doing her homework. An easy chapter book, perfect for reluctant readers with super short chapters (42 chapters in a 92 page book!) and photo illustrations. I thought the illustrations were really neat because I'd never really seen that in a chapter book before. To be honest, Moxy's plight frustrated me because I just wanted her to READ THE BOOK, but it's funny and spunky and a great choice for fans of Clementine, Ramona, etc.
Carstairs38 More than 1 year ago
Moxy has one more day to read Stuart Little, her summer homework assignment, before 4th grade starts. Will she actually get it done, or will she finds ways to put it off again? As a procrastinator at heart, I found this book way too true and very funny.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Who knew someone would write a book about not liking Stuart Little? It's a very short book, but it is really funny. It teaches a good lesson, don't judge a book by its cover!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love this book read it twice!
Crazydude14 More than 1 year ago
This book is horrible. Is sucks. The writing is bad, the chapters make no sense, and it makes you think "READ THE STUPID BOOK ALREADY!!!!". It is so horrible, that i couldn't finish it, but i had to warn all of you fellow readers about this cruddy book. BEWARE!!!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
ALSO IT SAID STUART DIES HE DOESNT DIE MS MAXWELL U R A BIG FAT LIER 4 TELLING MOXY THAT U CRAZY MOTHER OF A WOMAN!!!!!!!!!!! :(